Our Lady of the Assassins - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Lady of the Assassins Reviews

Page 1 of 4
June 7, 2001
The characters aren't particularly likeable.
October 11, 2001
Treats us to half-baked philosophizing along the lines of 'Life is short and ends when you least expect it' or 'People who aren't on TV don't exist.'
November 5, 2001
We get the point after the first half hour or so: hope is gone, life is awful, okay, okay, got it.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/5
January 13, 2005
| Original Score: 1.5/5
November 25, 2002
The message is fine, the film itself is not so fine.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 6, 2001
Strives for political points while it's whiffing on simplicities like character, motivation, and believability.
September 6, 2001
The characters never engage our interest, and the relentless violence grows monotonous.
March 11, 2003
Like a random gang shooting - it leaves a big impression but makes no sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
September 28, 2001
What it doesn't have are characters whom we care one wit about. Live or die, we couldn't care less.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 23, 2001
Presents the drug cartel town of Medellin as hell, but it's a rather perfunctory one.
September 7, 2001
It's hard to care much about world-weary Fernando, with his portentous talk about coming home to die, or the inconsiderate Alexis.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 9, 2001
We never come to care about these characters, perhaps because they seem to care so little about themselves.
October 12, 2001
The Spanish-language thriller Our Lady of the Assassins has a lot to say. Whether most audiences can sit through the movie long enough to bear witness to those messages is entirely a different matter.
Top Critic
March 22, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 8, 2001
A movie that finds a new way to get at the dichotomy of the violent yet supposedly religious and of the faith-starved yet militantly agnostic.
July 29, 2002
...a subtle and rigorous examination of the dynamics of power, both personal and political ...like Thomas Mann's Death in Venice transposed into the key of viciousness
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: A-
October 28, 2001
The film's title is appropriate. A desperate Catholicism flavors the doomed city.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 21, 2001
... a powerful examination of the decline of civilization as refracted in one tiny corner of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 28, 2001
It's tough, interesting, scary, passionate, revealing.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 4