Our Lady of the Assassins - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Lady of the Assassins Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
June 7, 2001
The characters aren't particularly likeable.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
October 11, 2001
Treats us to half-baked philosophizing along the lines of 'Life is short and ends when you least expect it' or 'People who aren't on TV don't exist.'
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
November 5, 2001
We get the point after the first half hour or so: hope is gone, life is awful, okay, okay, got it.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
January 13, 2005
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 25, 2002
The message is fine, the film itself is not so fine.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Mr. Showbiz
September 6, 2001
Strives for political points while it's whiffing on simplicities like character, motivation, and believability.
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
September 6, 2001
The characters never engage our interest, and the relentless violence grows monotonous.
Joshua Tanzer
Offoffoff
March 11, 2003
Like a random gang shooting - it leaves a big impression but makes no sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
September 28, 2001
What it doesn't have are characters whom we care one wit about. Live or die, we couldn't care less.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Mader
Hollywood Reporter
May 23, 2001
Presents the drug cartel town of Medellin as hell, but it's a rather perfunctory one.
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
September 7, 2001
It's hard to care much about world-weary Fernando, with his portentous talk about coming home to die, or the inconsiderate Alexis.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Louis B. Parks
Houston Chronicle
October 9, 2001
We never come to care about these characters, perhaps because they seem to care so little about themselves.
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
October 12, 2001
The Spanish-language thriller Our Lady of the Assassins has a lot to say. Whether most audiences can sit through the movie long enough to bear witness to those messages is entirely a different matter.
Top Critic

Globe and Mail
March 22, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
November 8, 2001
A movie that finds a new way to get at the dichotomy of the violent yet supposedly religious and of the faith-starved yet militantly agnostic.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 29, 2002
...a subtle and rigorous examination of the dynamics of power, both personal and political ...like Thomas Mann's Death in Venice transposed into the key of viciousness
Full Review| Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 28, 2001
The film's title is appropriate. A desperate Catholicism flavors the doomed city.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ted Murphy
Baseline.Hollywood.com
December 21, 2001
... a powerful examination of the decline of civilization as refracted in one tiny corner of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
February 9, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
September 28, 2001
It's tough, interesting, scary, passionate, revealing.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 4