Our Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Song Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 2, 2013
Honest, positive look at urban teens with mature themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 1, 2006
At times, Our Song feels like a documentary, never once seeming forced or far-fetched.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 5, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
December 13, 2002
Jim McKay's "Our Song" is a bittersweet reverberation to the brittleness of friendship.
Full Review
January 6, 2002
It's an astonishing movie, with a real-life feel.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
December 21, 2001
While there are some minor flaws in "Our Song," it is a rich work that introduces three extraordinary young talents and marks a maturation in filmmaker [Jim] McKay.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 16, 2001
A humbling, poignant alternative to the movies about teenagers we usually see. This one isn't about a party. It's about life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 21, 2001
Captures the ups-and-downs in the lives of three New York high school girls with surprising delicacy and honesty.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 20, 2001
It says something positive about human resilience under duress.
September 14, 2001
A truly fresh performance can do wonders for a movie, and Our Song has three of them.
September 13, 2001
Slow, talky and ultimately ambiguous, the film remains watchable thanks to the effectiveness of its three leads.
September 13, 2001
Anyone who understands the subtle shadings of friendship will appreciate Our Song's realistic slice of teen life.
September 13, 2001
That rare thing, an American movie that looks at teenagers' life with sensitivity and empathy and humanity.
September 7, 2001
Beautifully illuminates that poised-on-the-edge period of adolescence and the sad weight of leaving childhood behind.
September 6, 2001
It's not clear who is telling whose story, but it's obvious this song belongs to them all.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 30, 2001
After watching Our Song, we leave with a very potent sense that these characters have become so real, they continue living beyond the close of the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2001
The power of Our Song finally comes through in its dozens of mesmerizing moments.
August 21, 2001
Confirms [McKay's] gift for catching ordinary folk in authentic terms on film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 15, 2001
An honest and compelling movie about the friendship between three girls in a high school band.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3