Our Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Song Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 3, 2001
Too much emphasis on dramatic structure.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
December 8, 2002
It's a film that tries so hard at being lifelike that it forgets to be entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 1, 2001
Pretentiously paced picture that tosses out a few big societal problems (drugs, shoplifting and, most of all, teen pregnancy) as nonchalantly as turning on a light switch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2001
It simply isn't satisfying, and for all McKay's refusal to succumb to clichéd dramatics the movie needs something.
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 6, 2001
Has the courage to work without a net, aware that when you're a teenager, your life is not a story so much as a million possible stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 21, 2001
While there are some minor flaws in "Our Song," it is a rich work that introduces three extraordinary young talents and marks a maturation in filmmaker [Jim] McKay.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 1, 2006
At times, Our Song feels like a documentary, never once seeming forced or far-fetched.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 6, 2002
It's an astonishing movie, with a real-life feel.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
July 2, 2013
Honest, positive look at urban teens with mature themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2001
The power of Our Song finally comes through in its dozens of mesmerizing moments.
October 16, 2001
A humbling, poignant alternative to the movies about teenagers we usually see. This one isn't about a party. It's about life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 25, 2001
An extraordinary film with a ring of authenticity....stands head-and-shoulders over other coming-of-age movies.
August 8, 2001
A low-budget, low-income slice-of-life movie oozing with community atmosphere and authentic affinity...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2001
It would take a heart of stone not to respond to these characters, sympathetically written and sincerely acted.
September 6, 2001
It's not clear who is telling whose story, but it's obvious this song belongs to them all.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 1, 2000
It is hard to imagine a movie less self-indulgent than Our Song, or one more completely absorbed in the complex humanity of its subjects.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 25, 2001
Refreshingly devoid of emotional hyperbole, but the director's lean, self-effacing style is occasionally less than gripping.
August 30, 2001
After watching Our Song, we leave with a very potent sense that these characters have become so real, they continue living beyond the close of the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2001
That rare thing, an American movie that looks at teenagers' life with sensitivity and empathy and humanity.
Page 1 of 3