Our Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Song Reviews

Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
January 6, 2002
It's an astonishing movie, with a real-life feel.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
September 20, 2001
It says something positive about human resilience under duress.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
September 14, 2001
A truly fresh performance can do wonders for a movie, and Our Song has three of them.
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
September 13, 2001
Anyone who understands the subtle shadings of friendship will appreciate Our Song's realistic slice of teen life.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
September 13, 2001
That rare thing, an American movie that looks at teenagers' life with sensitivity and empathy and humanity.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
September 7, 2001
Beautifully illuminates that poised-on-the-edge period of adolescence and the sad weight of leaving childhood behind.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
August 30, 2001
After watching Our Song, we leave with a very potent sense that these characters have become so real, they continue living beyond the close of the movie.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
August 21, 2001
Confirms [McKay's] gift for catching ordinary folk in authentic terms on film.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
August 10, 2001
We come to care about the characters, and at the end we appreciate having had the opportunity to see the world through their eyes.
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
August 10, 2001
The movie's soul isn't its plot but the relationships among the girls.
Top Critic
Jay Carr
Boston Globe
July 24, 2001
Our Song has no illusions about easy fixes. But neither does it traffic in facile despair as its three Graces saunter along the cracked pavement and into our hearts.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 6, 2001
Has the courage to work without a net, aware that when you're a teenager, your life is not a story so much as a million possible stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Petrakis
Chicago Tribune
July 5, 2001
Rich with scenes of affection, anger and reconciliation, along with moments of unfeigned humor.
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
June 19, 2001
A languid but refreshingly real depiction of female adolescence in the inner city.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
June 15, 2001
Takes familiar material and develops it with such tact and skill that we find ourselves moved and sort of amazed at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Kevin Maynard
Mr. Showbiz
June 7, 2001
McKay captures their environment without condescension.
Top Critic
Charles Taylor
Salon.com
May 29, 2001
It simply isn't satisfying, and for all McKay's refusal to succumb to clichéd dramatics the movie needs something.
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
May 25, 2001
Refreshingly devoid of emotional hyperbole, but the director's lean, self-effacing style is occasionally less than gripping.
Top Critic
May 25, 2001
Our Song is the most faithful cinematic depiction of adolescence in recent memory.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
May 25, 2001
It's a stroke of genuine artistry to craft a movie in a raw and glancing documentary style that is not merely 'authentic' but dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Jessica Winter
Village Voice
May 22, 2001
An exemplary coming-of-age tale not least because it so gracefully transcends its genre.
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
January 1, 2000
It is hard to imagine a movie less self-indulgent than Our Song, or one more completely absorbed in the complex humanity of its subjects.
| Original Score: 3.5/5