Our Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Song Reviews

January 6, 2002
It's an astonishing movie, with a real-life feel.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 20, 2001
It says something positive about human resilience under duress.
September 14, 2001
A truly fresh performance can do wonders for a movie, and Our Song has three of them.
September 13, 2001
Anyone who understands the subtle shadings of friendship will appreciate Our Song's realistic slice of teen life.
September 13, 2001
That rare thing, an American movie that looks at teenagers' life with sensitivity and empathy and humanity.
September 7, 2001
Beautifully illuminates that poised-on-the-edge period of adolescence and the sad weight of leaving childhood behind.
August 30, 2001
After watching Our Song, we leave with a very potent sense that these characters have become so real, they continue living beyond the close of the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2001
Confirms [McKay's] gift for catching ordinary folk in authentic terms on film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 10, 2001
We come to care about the characters, and at the end we appreciate having had the opportunity to see the world through their eyes.
August 10, 2001
The movie's soul isn't its plot but the relationships among the girls.
July 24, 2001
Our Song has no illusions about easy fixes. But neither does it traffic in facile despair as its three Graces saunter along the cracked pavement and into our hearts.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 6, 2001
Has the courage to work without a net, aware that when you're a teenager, your life is not a story so much as a million possible stories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2001
Rich with scenes of affection, anger and reconciliation, along with moments of unfeigned humor.
June 19, 2001
A languid but refreshingly real depiction of female adolescence in the inner city.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 15, 2001
Takes familiar material and develops it with such tact and skill that we find ourselves moved and sort of amazed at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 7, 2001
McKay captures their environment without condescension.
May 29, 2001
It simply isn't satisfying, and for all McKay's refusal to succumb to clichéd dramatics the movie needs something.
May 25, 2001
Refreshingly devoid of emotional hyperbole, but the director's lean, self-effacing style is occasionally less than gripping.
May 25, 2001
Our Song is the most faithful cinematic depiction of adolescence in recent memory.
May 25, 2001
It's a stroke of genuine artistry to craft a movie in a raw and glancing documentary style that is not merely 'authentic' but dramatic.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 22, 2001
An exemplary coming-of-age tale not least because it so gracefully transcends its genre.
January 1, 2000
It is hard to imagine a movie less self-indulgent than Our Song, or one more completely absorbed in the complex humanity of its subjects.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5