Oz the Great and Powerful - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oz the Great and Powerful Reviews

Page 3 of 13
March 15, 2013
The hackneyed message is about the importance of 'belief,' but in what? The idea that even the most talented and impressive women should move aside if a man wants to be in charge?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 15, 2013
Franco hasn't mastered dialogue rhythm and there are times when the movie stalls while he gets off a line BUT, the road ahead in this glorious $235M production is lined with gold, like the invention of the exquisite China Girl.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 15, 2013
There is also a message. This time it is not 'There is no place like home.' It is more like 'If we believe in ourselves and work together, with courage, we can do anything.' Nice message, that.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 15, 2013
(James) Franco's performance is one of the better, more genuine things about Disney's given-to-excess adaptation/prequel. Still, the movie is on the whole engaging and entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: B=
March 14, 2013
Kunis just doesn't cut it as a witch, and Franco makes for an unintentionally goofy wizard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
March 14, 2013
Did anyone watch the 1939 movie and say, "it was good but I'm not satisfied that I know enough about the Wicked Witch of the West's early years"?
March 14, 2013
This fun-filled, fantastically rendered yellow-brick romp, a back-story companion piece, is festooned with its own characters and once-upon-a-time charms.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 14, 2013
A perfectly solid family adventure, one that's made all the more fun for cinebuffs by those signature Raimi touches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 13, 2013
While there are quite a few fine things in Oz, I can't say I found the film entirely satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 13, 2013
Sam Raimi made his first feature film, The Evil Dead, for $90,000. Now he has made Oz The Great and Powerful - a prequel to The Wizard of Oz - for 2,222 times that. The result is a thousand times less entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 13, 2013
Franco, grinning and smirking his way through his performance, can't compete with the witches.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 13, 2013
The film blends together impressive special effects, a story about teamwork and the redemption of a man who finally strives for greatness into an effective family film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 13, 2013
Enthralling enough to share a double feature bill with Victor Fleming's 1939 original.
March 13, 2013
Both Franco and the overall aspects of the movie are better than I hoped for or expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 12, 2013
Pretty as all heck, in a manner that unquestionably reeks of Disney's attempt to sell you a theme park ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 11, 2013
It has the wow factor that big, Hollywood event movies demand. Raimi was the right person to elevate some pretty standard material, though Franco and Kunis may not have been the right people for the job.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 11, 2013
No Toto, no problem.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 11, 2013
In one picture we have everything that's right and wrong about the contemporary blockbuster experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 10, 2013
The film has lots of computer-generated special effects but no magic.
March 10, 2013
An imaginative mix of live-action and CGI that pays homage to the iconic images and timeless sense of wonder in the classic The Wizard of Oz without being too deferential.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 3 of 13