The Package - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Package Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ January 31, 2016
The end of the Cold War was not celebrated by everyone it would seem. Top shelf cast has Hackman as a green beret attempting to stop the assassination of Soviet Premier Gorbachev as he signs disarmament treaty in the US.
April 18, 2015
Hackman elevates this rather mindless thriller......about as generic as it goes.
April 8, 2015
Andrew Davis' first film. The director would go one to direct The Fugitive among others. Here we see just how much talent Davis has. Before he came on board as director the movie had the makings of a forgettable political thriller that world only have a spot at the bottom of Wal-mart's five dollar bin. But what we have is a well done and enjoyable film about the end of the cold war and a fictional plot to kill a american political figure.
½ March 9, 2015
Still good and in many ways relevant political assignation thriller with a great cast. Well-acted, but the best of the genre is still The Manchurian Candidate.
½ November 6, 2014
A decent early conspiracy thriller from Andrew Davis.
September 10, 2014
Average politcal thriller. The class of Hackman and a support cast of Jones, Heard and a twitch off Grier just about gets it over the finishing line.
½ March 16, 2014
I somehow missed this when it came out. Worth watching for the period it takes place and a fine role for Gene Hackman. Wish it didn't contain 80s style music score and again military officers/noncomms with hair exceedingly out of regulation hair cuts. But those are my only two nits with the movie; pretty convincing for 80s era between Vietnam and Desert Shield and plausible plot
July 24, 2013
Nifty thriller from the late 80s. A little dated, but it still holds up. Director Andrew Davis used many of the same locations a few years later in "The Fugitive."
June 29, 2013
Nice little political thriller. Several loop holes in military protocol - but this is a Hollywood movie.
March 31, 2013
maybe i'll watch this if i'm ever depressed one day.
½ February 6, 2013
A bit dated, but Hackman is always good. Decent film.
October 29, 2012
Slow start but once it picks up it's pretty good.
½ July 23, 2012

You can see touches of the JFK conspiracy, and some other great fresh touches of it own. It a great thriler, with the always good Gene Hackman giving a knockout performance.
½ July 14, 2012
A good movie which kept me entertained from start to finish.
May 30, 2012
Certainly one the better thrillers I have seen so far. Exciting, suspenseful, thrilling.
½ January 18, 2012
Despite some slow pacing this is a really good thriller that has a strong cast, interesting plot, good action, well made score and a tense ending.
½ January 11, 2012
Average late 80s thriller... didn't blow me away
September 3, 2011
Intrigante film di spionaggio che riesce ad inglobare aspetti puramente fantapolitici, senza però apparire irrealistico. Maginifica interpretazione di Gene Hackman che anche in questo lungometraggio dimostra il proprio talento.
½ July 11, 2011
Buen thriller de acción, con el final de la Guerra fría como leiv motiv (rodada el mismo año de la caída del muro de Berlín), narrada con buen pulso y oficio por un Andrew Davis que venía de rodar con Seagal y Chuck Norris y que con esta película y con la magnífica nomina de actores reunidos para la ocasión se labró una reputación como director de acción, que le llevo a rodar Alerta Máxima y El Fugitivo.
Gene Hackman en el papel del duro sargento Gallagher y Tommy Lee Jones como Thomas Boyette, el peligroso prisionero fugado tras ser apresado por el intento de asesinato del primer ministro ruso, son las autenticas estrellas de la función, acompañados para la ocasión por una nutrida representación de buenos actores de carácter (estupenda Pam Grier ).
June 8, 2011
A good intrigue film -wait, one of the better intrigue / intelligence community films.
Page 1 of 5