Palindromes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Palindromes Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 7, 2012
There's pointed fatalism and indictments of middle-class superiority, but Solondz, ever the outsider, never loses affection for his misfits or stoops to passing judgment on their motivations. Love or hate him, he's vital.
| Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2009
"Palindromes" is a sloppy and muddy film that uses the shock value of seeing adult men humping numerous underage girls as its recurring visual device inscrutably linked to an unclear abortion issue theme.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 15, 2007
A bizarre but brilliant headscratcher!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 21, 2007
Certainly a unique vision for a filmmaker, this is not a flick for everyone. Stick with it, however, and you just may thoroughly enjoy what is at the heart an incredibly sweet tale.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 29, 2007
The director's latest trek into the lunatic void, of what can best be described as the cinematic version of clinical depression.
Full Review
August 15, 2006
...captures the shifting identity of adolescence, where one day you feel like a glamorous adult, others like a scared child, others still like a grotesquely overweight misfit.
November 27, 2005
potentially decent film buried under the thick layers of misanthropy
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
October 6, 2005
OK, I'll admit it: I've next to no idea what to make of Palindromes, and you know what? I doubt the filmmaker would have a problem with me owning up to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 15, 2005
Most demanding.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 10, 2005
For all its pompous attempts at seriousness and emotional depth, Palindromes is actually a remarkably shallow affair.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 8, 2005
Aviva...in all her permutations, may as well be a bug under the director's microscope.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 30, 2005
[Director Todd] Solondz simply pukes all over the American landscape and all its inhabitants in a nihilistic cinematic chunder...
July 21, 2005
Underdeveloped and uneven yet oddly watchable, the gimmicky "Palindromes" once again cements the conceit that nobody makes films quite like Todd Solondz.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 21, 2005
Todd Solondz's latest provocation is Palindromes, yet another uncomfortable fable of suburban dysfunction, puberty, and statutory rape.
June 17, 2005
Solondz's masterstroke is to have the girl, Aviva, played by eight different actors of varying ages, sizes and races -- a move that should decimate the film's narrative coherence but instead ups its allegorical value immeasurably.
June 17, 2005
Subversive by reputation, Solondz is an acquired taste on his best day, and he's just all over the place with this one. Unpleasantly so.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 14, 2005
...his most political film to date, yet any commentary Solondz tries to make becomes muddled amid all the depressing weirdness.
Full Review
June 6, 2005
As long as we're trying Michael Jackson in a court of law, why can't we thrown in Todd Solondz as a co-defendent?
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
June 1, 2005
It's a film with a purpose that I admire a great deal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2005
[If Solondz isn't] having fun relating Aviva's determinedly depressive misadventures then what has he invited us into the theater for?
Page 1 of 6