Paradise Hills Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 13, 2019
Every shot of Paradise Hills is otherworldly in its beauty. I'm not sure how it "reads" as a narrative, but as a visual work of art, a tone poem, and a riff on some familiar but evergreen themes it makes one stand and applaud.
November 8, 2019
Narrated with unusual elegance, with excellent performances from the entire female cast, and gifted with a perverse and twisted flair, this is one of the most unique debuts of Spanish cinema in years. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 4, 2019
There's no tension as to where things are going to end up, the final images leaving me cold.
November 2, 2019
PARADISE HILLS is a lush and occasionally provocative feature, one that creates a strange sense of wonder and weird.
November 2, 2019
Give it up for "Paradise Hills" for swinging for the fences when it comes to bat-bleep crazy.
November 1, 2019
The visuals are certainly trippy enough, but they start to feel like distractions included to keep you from noticing the shallowness of the screenplay and the fairly uninspired direction.
October 31, 2019
A disappointingly half-baked riff on The Stepford Wives whose brand of feminism feels more 1970s than 2010s.
October 30, 2019
Despite being an empowering film that Waddington hopes to inspire young girls of all backgrounds and personalities, the plot fumbles ever so slightly with limited development.
October 28, 2019
For a long time I had no idea what the hell was going on in this movie... I tapped out.
October 28, 2019
This is a film that, if I was 15-years-old and having a sleepover with my friends, I would 100 percent want to put on.
October 28, 2019
Paradise Hills has pacing issues, and a made-for-TV feel it can't quite escape. A firmer grasp of tone would've benefited the narrative. Yet its creators' boundless imagination carries it through the rougher patches.
October 28, 2019
The points earned by its visual identity, promising concept, and talented cast are lost by an aimless script. [Full review in Spanish]
October 26, 2019
I wish there was more to grab on to here. The cast is solid, though everyone involved has done better work. It's in the third act where things crumble.
October 25, 2019
There are some unnerving tricks at play here that should please those weaned on Labyrinth and The Never Ending Story.
October 25, 2019
There are a few good ideas, and a few good twists at the end, but it's not enough to make up for the rookie mistakes that undercut its potential.
October 25, 2019
There's not much incentive for emotional investment in these shallow characters, for whom the cartoonish misadventures don't seem particularly empowering, if that's the intention.
October 25, 2019
A clever if somewhat under-realized mash-up of "The Prisoner," "The Hunger Games" and "The Stepford Wives," the movie has such confidence - and such an impressive sense of design - that its simplistic narrative isn't much of a drawback.
October 25, 2019
The plot's revelations and thematic concerns serve as a shallow counterpoint to the visual intricacies of the world Waddington has built.
October 25, 2019
PARADISE HILLS is a stunningly gorgeous sight for the eyes, reflecting a refreshing color palette seldom seen in the YA dystopian film genre.
October 24, 2019
The movie creates a fantasy world that's like Alice in Wonderland meets Guillermo del Toro meets THX 1138.
Page 1 of 3