Paradise: Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Paradise: Love Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Top Critic
Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post
April 26, 2013
Seidl sternly rejects nuance. All the women are crude and insensitive, all the men are desperate and exploited.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Simon Gallagher
Film School Rejects
May 19, 2012
Grotesque and too openly provocative for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Karina Longworth
L.A. Weekly
May 18, 2012
It would be fitting with Seidl's apparent project if Paradise (Love) was, in some sense, a documentary of its own making. But that doesn't make its facile ironies about still-pervasive, post-colonial exploitation and dehumanization any more enlightening
Allan Hunter
Screen International
May 18, 2012
Leaves the impression that no matter how striking the aesthetic, Seidl is really not telling us anything we don't know already.
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
June 13, 2013
Moralists and the missionarily inclined will go "Tsk, tsk, how degrading." That seems to be Seidl's attitude, though he sidles up to it archly and pruriently.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jon Frosch
France24
May 30, 2012
Formally rigorous, but it tosses around the same few ideas about mutual exploitation, racism, and sex for two hours without getting anywhere deeper or more revealing.
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
May 18, 2012
Ultimately, Paradise: Love seems interested only in making you wince, not in making you think.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
May 3, 2013
The whole affair curdles into a feeling of unearned, defensive superiority.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Geoffrey Macnab
Independent (UK)
May 23, 2012
Fearlessly acted by Margarete Tiesel, Love makes its often cruel points about colonialism and exploitation quickly and effectively, then bangs them home at repetitive length.
Top Critic
David Rooney
Hollywood Reporter
May 18, 2012
Ulrich Seidl's look at female sex tourism is compelling up to a point, and then just numbing.
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 2, 2013
Ulrich Seidl: sadomasochistic provocateur or compassionate observer of the human condition?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jonathan Robbins
Film Comment Magazine
November 4, 2013
Watching Paradise: Love is a visceral, Schadenfreude-tinged experience that produces belly laughs and queasiness alike-sometimes in tandem.
Jessica Kiang
The Playlist
May 3, 2013
Challenging, complex and frequently ugly, "Paradise: Love" is a ruthless exploration of how unlike our everyday selves we can behave when we're "on holiday," and how much that illuminates who we really are.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
June 14, 2013
The problem is not with the hopelessness of Seidl's vision, it is with the predictability of the tonal arc.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Guy Lodge
Time Out
May 18, 2012
At 120 minutes, the director perhaps luxuriates in our discomfort a little too long, but it's still a relief to be on our side of the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
May 31, 2013
The striking compositions mingle childlike curiosity with adult decadence -- and natural beauty with garish consumer culture -- to provocative, even profound effect.
Diego Semerene
Slant Magazine
April 23, 2013
It often seems more intent on spelling out its awareness of the politics involved than in lingering on the aching human engaged in the libidinal transactions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Jordan Hoffman
Film.com
April 26, 2013
One of the most disturbing films I've seen in a very long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph (UK)
May 21, 2012
Paradise: Love flits nimbly between humour and sadness, and treats potentially ponderous themes such as sex, race and the rancid legacy of colonialism with a welcome light touch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kam Williams
AALBC.com
April 24, 2013
What happens in Nairobi, stays in Nairobi!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 3