Paranormal Activity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Paranormal Activity Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Scott Weinberg
TheHorrorShow
August 28, 2015
A fresh coat of paint applied to an impressively old-fashioned ghost story.
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
For extended sections, this movie is very scary. My frequent self-preserving glimpses away from the screen, just to catch my breath, can confirm that.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
February 1, 2013
Fun as a communal experience in a crowded theater. Scary? Not that often.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 16, 2011
| Original Score: 3/5
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 27, 2010
Peli teases the audience expertly. Scenes remain silent and still; not for long, but long enough to make you sweat. The terror of anticipation and its abrupt release, particularly in the final scene, is exhilarating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Perri Nemiroff
CinemaBlend.com
August 12, 2010
It'll take quite some time to recover before you can sleep soundly without wondering if you're really alone in the room.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 6, 2010
A suburban couple mess with dark spirits in the effective low budget chiller.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
July 6, 2010
Oren Peli in his feature debut has a few jolts in store, and the natural performances of the cast and the aura of reality provided by the video format keep the tension high.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
January 31, 2010
Paranormal Activity isn't an actor's film per se, but it wouldn't be as eerily effective without Featherston and Sloat's believable, lived in performances.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
January 10, 2010
I'd rank being stuck in a big quiet house at night as one of life's most easily unnerving experiences, and this movie capitalizes on it.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
January 10, 2010
... a fairly satisfying piece of filmmaking and an overhyped piece of cult marketing.

Rip It Up
December 16, 2009
Authentically unnerving, exploiting basic fears with flashes of real brilliance and creating something that lingers long in the memory -- and definitely will come back to haunt you in the dark of night.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
December 15, 2009
The climax is deliciously scary, and Peli gets considerable mileage from the simple matter of lights inexplicably going on in another room.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 15, 2009
It illustrates one of my favorite points, that silence and waiting can be more entertaining than frantic fast-cutting and berserk f/x. For extended periods here, nothing at all is happening, and believe me, you won't be bored.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 15, 2009
It's not the scariest movie I have ever seen, but it's probably the most efficient and insidious. The noises in my house never seemed so loud or inexplicable as they do after seeing this. It's a great scary treat and the filmmakers should be rewarded wi
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Cosmo Landesman
Sunday Times (UK)
December 4, 2009
Paranormal Activity is a remarkable achievement, but ultimately it's just not scary enough to be considered a horror classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jonathan Romney
Independent on Sunday
December 4, 2009
Peli's film revives the honourable tradition of chills-by-suggestion, whereby what we don't see is far scarier than what we do.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
December 3, 2009
Sem sentir necessidade de bombardear a platéia com efeitos visuais e sonoros o tempo inteiro, investe no silêncio e na sutileza para contar sua historinha simples, trocando os sustos corriqueiros por um constante e palpável estado de absoluta tensão.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Giles Hardie
Unknown2
December 3, 2009
From the changing relationship dynamics to the various reveals, this is a maestro fright flick at its shocking best. And if you're after a film that goes bump in the night, this is the one for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
December 2, 2009
The young couple's (and our) exposure to the demonic forces at play in suburban San Diego is entirely believable and chillingly unforgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10