Pay It Forward - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pay It Forward Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 27, 2010
A bit syrupy, but sentimental teens may enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 23, 2008
Ironic, isn't it, that a film about human decency takes place in Vegas?
| Original Score: 3.5/5
October 18, 2007
The film seems manufactured to furrow a cynic's brow before bringing up their lunch.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 14, 2007
There is a clear-cut difference between 'Oscar bait' and 'Oscar worthy,' which Mimi Leder's sentimental crock of a drama illustrates all too well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2005
Despite a ton of good intentions, the picture is numbingly obvious and crushingly sentimental.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 29, 2005
It is a movie that will not only find but charm -- or should we say con? -- a certain kind of audience.
Read More | Original Score: C
February 7, 2003
A fine, honest tale that gives full respect to the pain of yearning and the power of hope.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 8, 2002
Hopefully, I've now prevented three people from seeing this film, and now they will each prevent three other people from doing the same.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 6, 2002
Spacey and Hunt create interestingly layered characters who are hiding parts of themselves from themselves. And come Oscar time, Osment once again may be saying, 'I see tuxedoed people.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 21, 2002
There is much to like in this film, not least of which is the positive message.
June 21, 2002
Filled with calculated sentiment, this is not a movie but a feature-length shill for Academy Awards nominations.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/4
June 15, 2002
even if you don't buy the idea... it's still quite possible to enjoy the movie as a love story involving two badly damaged souls.
June 5, 2002
Overlong, overpriced, overwrought sentimental bucket of slop.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 25, 2002
By the end of this movie, I have no desire to change the real world. I would just like to show the writers of this movie what it would be like if they lived in it for one day.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 22, 2002
Less a worthy achievement than a nice try.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 10, 2001
Sappy, forced, artificial and manipulative--but really well ACTED!
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 19, 2001
Optimistic, yet painfully honest, Pay it Forward is an excellent film for those who look for hope amidst the world's seemingly overwhelming bad news.
Read More | Original Score: 82/100
June 25, 2001
With its smorgasbord of moralizings, Pay It Forward is a confusing welter of sentiment.
June 11, 2001
...too unfocused, too uninvolving, and ultimately too cloyingly sweet for my taste.
Read More | Original Score: 5/10
June 4, 2001
Not since Gump has there been such a pandering, faux-virtuous package of populist pap for Hollywood to shove in the faces of electioneering politicos and say: Look, we don't just market unwholesome swill to families, we market wholesome swill, too.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/5
Page 1 of 7