Pay It Forward - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pay It Forward Reviews

Page 2 of 7
May 25, 2001
Few films stoop as low as Pay it Forward under the guise of upright seriousness.
Full Review | Original Score: short
May 2, 2001
Sanctimonious drivel.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
April 16, 2001
All three leads are first-rate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 1, 2001
"Pay It Forward" elicits more emotion than it deserves. Still, shedding a tear or two on account of the film is not an unreasonable request.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 21, 2001
Recordatorio de que la humanidad puede ser redimida a través de las buenas intenciones y la fe en los demás
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2001
It's not looking to touch us in any meaningful way; it's just looking to make us cry so we (and the Academy) will be fooled into heaping awards on it come next March.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
So enamored of its own upbeat view of human nature that it expects you to overlook its stick-figure characters, its creaky plot machinery and its remorseless assault on your tear ducts.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Both affecting and effective.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
It tells a story that audience members will want to like, but it doesn't tell it strongly and cleanly enough; it puts too many loops into the plot, and its ending is shamelessly soapy for the material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
If a movie can coax tears out of me, touch me in a way that the tears flow naturally, more power to it. But stealing my tears by beating me over the head with manipulated schmaltz is a cheat.
January 1, 2000
Some very affecting performances.
January 1, 2000
Spacey and Osment can wrench a few tears out of me anytime they want. Being led by the nose was never so pleasant.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 1, 2000
The acting should please everyone -- including Academy voters.
January 1, 2000
My heart was happily warmed and my tears happily jerked.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
The heavy-handedness of the direction makes the film a lesser experience than it might otherwise have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
an "attack of total altruism" embedded in a slightly simplistic movie, fronted with terrific actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Osment truly is as good as it gets where kid thesps are concerned.
January 1, 2000
Heavy-handed plot designing and telegraphing makes the film more tedious than rousing.
January 1, 2000
A good movie that could have surely been a great one if the producers had had the guts to present reality as it is.
January 1, 2000
A cheaply manipulative film of constructed sentimentality that left me feeling angry at how it tried to jerk my emotions around.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 2 of 7