Payday - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Payday Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ December 14, 2014
In "Payday," Rip Torn takes advantage of a rare leading role and runs with it. In this film, he plays Maury Dann, a country musician, who is currently at a crossroads in his career. His manager Clarence(Michael C. Gwynne) advises him to take some time off in Nashville, where he can record a little, and maybe appear on Johnny Cash's show, after a concert in Birmingham, so as to avoid a process server who may be looking for him. Maury, by contrast, wants to continue the tour into New England. For the time being, all he wants to do after the concert is to drink beer and have sex.

"Payday" is a modest character study of somebody who is not modest in the least, answering the question once and for all as to whether talent has any connection with how good a person is. For Maury, it all comes down to his past which he can never escape, either his mother(Cara Dunn) who he supports and visits occasionally or his children that he has lost touch with. This was also filmed at an interesting time for the South, just after it had recently integrated.
October 15, 2014
Payday more than lives up to its reputation, showcasing Torn's finest film performance, while screenwriter Don Carpenter and director Daryl Duke create an indelible portrait of the grimy, pointless life of a second-rate country performer, endlessly roaming the back highways of the American South.
½ January 10, 2014
76%

"Get your hands off my dog!"-Muary Dann (Rip Torn)

Torn's best preformance.

"You didn't earn it."-Muary Dann
May 15, 2012
Why didn't I know about this? Kind of like "Crazy Heart" except it was made forty years earlier. Rip Torn manages to be despicable, pitiable, likable, and threatening all at once.
April 30, 2012
"Argh! Fuck y'all! I'm not public property!" So says country star (the mighty Rip Torn) burning it at both ends. Women and whiskey, cops and confidants, it don't matter: payday coming soon. Intereseting, minor early '70s character study. Grab a bottle of Wild Turkey and enjoy. Songs by Shel Silverstein. Western shirts by WIN.
October 2, 2011
Torn's toothy grin is a beacon of light in this, his best film. Playing Maury Dann, an unmitigated louse and an up and coming C&W singer, Torn gives us the unvarnished view of life on the road. This is what "You're Cheatin' Heart" should have looked like. And if you listen carefully, you will notice "She's Just a Country Girl" is replicated in at least one other film of the 70's: "The China Syndrome" when Fonda meets Jack Lemmon in a rural honky tonk to get the dirt on the nuclear power plant. This film has always been an unheralded masterpiece.
July 29, 2011
I den här höjdarfilmen får vi följa 36 timmar i den pillerknarkande outlaw country-musikern/skitstöveln Maury Danns liv. Rip Torn är lysande i huvudrollen (plus en hygglig countrysångare) och filmen träffar rätt på hela countrygrejen mycket bättre än den för sentimentala Crazy Heart från för nåt år sedan. Det är ta mig tusan ovanligt med en såhär pass osympatisk huvudkaraktär, särskilt i amerikansk film. Allt som allt en dold pärla i den amerikanska sjuttiotalsfilmen.
March 15, 2010
Torn does a great job of portraying a narcissistic madman who happens to sing country music.
½ February 8, 2010
A booze and drug fueled country music odyssey, featuring a great star turn by Rip Torn. He revels in honky tonk hedonism like no other but remains oddly sympathetic through the violent outbursts and blatant misogyny.
January 30, 2010
An amazing look into Rip Torn's acting credits. Worth a rent if you can find it.
½ December 5, 2009
Payday is a clever and adventurous film that came out at a very interesting crossroads in cinema history. This film truly captures the the biting and creative essence of American cinema in the early 1970's and remains one of the under the radar gems of this period.
This is a must see for any Rip Torn fan as he gives one of the best performances of his career playing crazed country music star Maury Dunn, whose excessive lifestyle follows him as fast as he can run from it. The entire story of the film takes place in just 36 hours and does a good job in engrossing the viewer in the characters and pacing of the story from the very start of the film.
Payday is an enjoyable on the road adventure that condenses humor and adrenaline into an hour and fourty minutes of wild and intriguing story lines and dialouge and is an enjoyable watch any day of the week.
October 6, 2009
A powerful character study. Rip Torn rocks!
Super Reviewer
July 30, 2009
A feeling very close to exhaustion, a kind of psychic emptiness, pervades this film.
May 19, 2009
"Argh! Fuck y'all! I'm not public property!" So says country star (the mighty Rip Torn) burning it at both ends. Women and whiskey, cops and confidants, it don't matter: payday coming soon. Intereseting, minor early '70s character study. Grab a bottle of Wild Turkey and enjoy. Songs by Shel Silverstein. Western shirts by WIN.
½ March 8, 2009
Rip Torn impromptu lobby Q+A/wrestling challenge/Laurence Olivier story time = *****
½ March 6, 2009
The pacing is almost perfect. The whole thing is only two days, but the flow is so carefully modulated that interest never flags. Very brightly colored photography. Torn's character is carefully constructed: a self-centered artist focused on money, indifferent to morality, indifferent to self-preservation, a guy who sells out his friend without a pang, but a guy who finds meaning in music. Ahna Capri is jaw-dropping as the innocent groupie, putty for the men but a real hard case for female competitors.
I was transfixed by this movie, and couldn't get it out of my head for many hours.
½ February 20, 2009
The violent climax is a disappointing attempt to impose structure on this delightfully aimless, unsentimental portrait of the music business. Rip Torn is awesome in a singularly disgusting performance.
Super Reviewer
January 30, 2009
Rip Torn is fucking amazing in this flick. I have always appreciated him, but felt it was sad that most people will remember him for Men in Black and Dodgeball (which he was funny in, but, still..) because you see him in a performance like this. The script is pretty interesting but takes some dumb, movie cliche turns that went against it's day in the life type story line. I could have watched Rip Torn talk to people all day, but they had to get a plot going and the co-stars are bad at best. The thing that saved this movie was the ending which I loved and wondered why the middle of the movie went so wrong.
½ January 15, 2009
Portrait of a bad man, etched in acid.
December 11, 2008
I'm not sure why anyone wouldn't like this movie. I had zero complaints.
Page 1 of 2