Penelope - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Penelope Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 12, 2012
This quirky, snarky contemporary fairy tale could have been a family blockbuster.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 11, 2010
Penelope suggests that peace comes through character, not cosmetic surgery. In this, it's smarter than Twilight...
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 9, 2008
Penelope is adorable and easy to watch thanks to the charms of its leads Ricci and McAvoy. But it's too much a mainstream Hollywood product and not enough of a spunky indie spirit to really win audiences over.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 22, 2008
Penelope is a sweet trifle, a great kid's movie, and not surprising, given its subject matter a film gay audiences will find familiar and comforting. That's because, more than anything, this is a story of acceptance of one's true self.
March 9, 2008
After I saw the intriguing trailers that trailed off a couple years back, I wondered why this movie was wallowing somewhere on a shelf.I'm still not sure. Although I do know one thing: Had this been a Christmas-time release, it would have been seen by lot
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
March 7, 2008
It's Ricci, with her princesslike innocence and Keane-painting eyes, who provides the movie's abundant charm.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 7, 2008
Despite Christina Ricci's charming performance, Penelope is trapped in a twilight zone between fairy tales and play-it-safe romantic comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 7, 2008
The convictions of the cast and an extremely snappy script fill in most of the gaps caused by the wobbly plotlines.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 5, 2008
A film of some ragged charm -- and one in which there's always something cool to look at in design and filmmaking style. And that's more than a lot of movies can claim.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 5, 2008
A neat modern fairy tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 4, 2008
'Penelope' is a sweet film that I rather enjoyed. It never hurts to be reminded that we should all be happy with who we are.
Full Review
March 4, 2008
Just downright lovely, a gorgeous fairy tale for children and grown-ups alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 3, 2008
The material is flawed, to be sure, but the story is less predictable than you would guess and it exudes an easy-going wit.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
March 3, 2008
I think it's a sweet film.
March 1, 2008
A grim fairy tale at times, Penelope eventually lands in crowd-pleaser territory.
| Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2008
Penelope's brilliant cast carries the audience through of the film's minor iniquities and gives us a charming and delightful myth.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 29, 2008
...it's enjoyable, thanks mainly to Ricci's sweetly poignant performance...
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 29, 2008
While uneven, this Ugly Duckling redux is hipper and funnier than a Disney movie, and the positive message to young girls can't be discounted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 7