Penelope - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Penelope Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 27, 2008
Much as I would like to give Penelope unreserved praise, I can't stretch my lukewarm approbation that far.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 1, 2008
It's not eccentric enough to be as otherworldly as it wants to be, but it's too self-consciously quirky to perform on its own merits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 29, 2008
Penelope was in a trough of trouble before the oink on the script was dry.
February 26, 2008
However one can fault the execution, there's something ironic about its sweet message about accepting one's own faults.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 28, 2008
For all its good intentions and positive messages, this pig pic doesn't fly because, ironically, it never roots deeply enough.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 12, 2007
Mark Palansky goes for Tim Burton-by-Jean-Pierre Jeunot whimsicality with Penelope, a storybook fable that never overplays its cutesiness but also fails to figure out what it wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 29, 2008
Visually stylish, what might have been a cute fantasy becomes tedious due to its banal script and a relentless overload of pig-jokes.
July 22, 2008
It's too bad that the second half turned out to be a drag, because I very much enjoyed the first half.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
February 28, 2008
Resembling the kind of tale Aesop might spin after one too many vats of homemade Ouzo, Penelope plods along on a desire to endear. All it really does is infuriate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 28, 2008
I suppose Penelope would be pleasurable if the title character looked more like a pig and less like a burn victim.
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 12, 2008
With only a DNA witch's curse pig's snout compromising Ricci's otherwise exceedingly alluring physical assets, it doesn't make a lick of sense that prospective suitors are jumping out of windows after catching a glimpse of her disfigured beak.
July 19, 2008
A diligent ensemble can't lift the film to anything higher than a shallow fairy tale with only worthy intentions.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 7, 2008
Produced according to a formula for squeezing the maximum amount of cloying charm out of the minimum investment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
March 2, 2008
How can a movie with this premise and this cast be so mercilessly dull and stupid?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 29, 2008
Some viewers may find its self-conscious eccentricities to be somehow charming but if you put this film in a contest against other contemporary fairy tales, it wouldn't come close to winning%u2013not even by a nose.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 28, 2008
Less-than-magical fairytale about girl who must find true love in order to break the family curse that left her with the nose of a pig.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 29, 2008
Unfortunately, Penelope only masquerades as a film about self-acceptance and liking ourselves for who we are.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
February 29, 2008
Just another stab at modern fantasy with some fatal filmmaking flaws that are all-too-real.
September 23, 2006
Penelope is a sweet, well-intentioned film, and it certainly appealed to the festival crowd I saw it with, but I'm just not sure after watching it, who exactly its audience is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 28, 2008
Entire plot strands crop up from out of nowhere only to disappear without explanation, never to be heard from again. It's as if [director] Caveny had so many ideas that she simply couldn't bear to leave any of them crumpled up on her office floor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7