People I Know - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

People I Know Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 24, 2003
Awkwardly derivative.
April 24, 2003
Al Pacino as a Manhattan publicist with moral paralysis is talky and tedious.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 30, 2003
People I Know rests not at the bottom of that pile, not at the top, but just out of range of significance, to be forgotten the minute the audience's back is turned.
February 1, 2003
The misshapen People I Know is not especially worth knowing. In fact, it barely seems to know itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 18, 2004
Pacino unleashes every trick in his actor's bag... The accent alone batters us into the back of the theater, making us want to go home.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 28, 2003
Rich in accrued, non-flashy detail and character potentiality, People I Know charts the lives of some vivid, interesting people. Narratively, though, it bites off more than it can comfortably chew.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 11, 2004
After watching this depressing film, I felt as tired as Al Pacino's character looked.
April 23, 2003
The story collapses like a bad tip to Liz Smith.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 24, 2003
Sometimes incisive but finally overbaked drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 25, 2003
The movie's stock 60's nostalgia is annoyingly facile. In glibly evoking heroes like Kennedy and King, the movie succumbs to the same mindless name-dropping it purports to decry.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
April 25, 2003
Miscast and badly thought out, People I Know needed more -- and less -- than it got.
May 9, 2003
Watchable but dramatically scattered.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 21, 2003
Not much to admire.
| Original Score: 2/5
May 10, 2003
...incredibly unpleasant on a purely visceral level.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 8, 2003
At one point, a character kids Eli about being 'moth-eaten,' but the term would be better applied to the film's crippling third act.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 20, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 21, 2004
[Starts] off like a B-version of Sweet Smell of Success before ending like a C-version of The Parallax View.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2003
It might have worked better if they could've convinced Pacino to drop that damn accent, in which the game of Ping-Pong is apparently pronounced 'pang-pawng.'
February 5, 2004
Intriguing but deeply flawed thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 24, 2003
It diverges way off course into an unnecessary murder mystery that takes away from the exciting pace found in the revved up scenes of Eli's daily life.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 3