Pineapple Express - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pineapple Express Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 22, 2017
You would have to smoke a great deal of the stuff to make Pineapple Express seem like a good movie, although from the assorted giggles at the Rio Theatre, the audience was ripped and receptive.
August 23, 2017
The party got out of hand towards the end, and we probably should have booked out before we got too tired.
August 6, 2008
Another week, another Apatow movie, another story of lame, pot-smoking slackers up to all kinds of hijinks and discovering the true meaning of friendship. Sigh.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 30, 2009
Pineapple Express is good for a few laughs but little more; it's low-grade Apatow--I think they used to call it dirt weed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 26, 2009
Pretty bad
August 4, 2008
As for Gary Cole's menacing bossman, he's a hemp-ty suit, a walking life lesson that, um, 'People who live in grass houses should not throw stoners.'
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 11, 2008
Watching Pineapple Express is like sitting dead sober in a room with a bunch of stoned people who are laughing uproariously. They're having a great time. You're not.
August 5, 2008
The action and comedy mix has never been an easy one to manage, and unfortunately Pineapple Express fails in that respect almost completely.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
August 6, 2008
You'd have to be high to think Pineapple Express is anything but a letdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 3, 2008
This is the kind of film that relies on its audience to find four letter words funny. I guess being stoned would help.
August 6, 2008
Got a problem? Get some ganja. Light up and we laugh. Ha. Ha. Nothing funnier than a bozo with a bong. And to couch such crap in a comedy and pass these characters and their anti-social antics as cool is unconscionable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 5, 2008
Can stoners alone propel Pineapple to box office success? After all, a couple movie tickets is a few less ounces of that sticky icky.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 8, 2008
If Pineapple Express works at all, it's likely to be for people willing to slip into the diner booth with these fellows and laugh along with them. The rest of us will often feel like we're merely watching a stoned friend have the time of his life.
August 4, 2008
Even though I think the movie gets bogged down with too many pot smoking scenes, stoners are going to think it's the Holy Grail. I laughed quite a bit, but I just wish the film was a little more focused.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 9, 2008
Stoner-based or not, good comedy shouldn't need any help from the baggie in your pocket.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 6, 2008
Watching good buds riff wears out its welcome after a half hour, and that's where a story really comes in handy. But when Pineapple goes from ganja to genre, it sours.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 6, 2008
As it shifts genre gears and cranks up the noise, becomes disappointingly sober and self-serious.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 9, 2008
There's a lot less time available to get high than just laying low, for this chemically disoriented pair. Pineapple Express, a mixed bag of assorted fruits and nuts, with doper loons on the lam waiting to inhale.
March 6, 2013
Your love of it will largely depend on how funny you find a movie with 85 percent of the jokes based on smoking weed. For the rest of you a lot of it is going to feel very silly, crammed with potty humor and overly long for such a simple subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 6, 2008
Apatow and Green are just throwing whatever they can at the screen, to see what will get either a laugh or a grimace. More likely the latter, since you'll likely leave the theatre wondering if you saw a comedy or a Sam Peckinpah movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 10