Pink Flamingos - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pink Flamingos Reviews

Page 2 of 88
½ March 30, 2015
The most cogently transgressive and anarchic film ever made?
February 25, 2015
John Waters' "Pink Flamingos," is a movie that proudly achieves every low, sordid, and shocking benchmark that it aims for. It's truly one of the most depraved, rancid, disgusting, and shamelessly stupid films I've ever seen.
January 28, 2015
Gross, twisted, and very, very funny. John Waters is the man.
December 16, 2014
A classic trash film. It´s difficult forget Divine, Crackers and Cotton. Violent, disruptive, a masterpiece of bad taste. Excellent soundtrack.
½ December 7, 2014
This is poor taste on coke, its weird, crazy and super Cult Worthy!
½ December 2, 2014
I give this film a half-star not because I feel it's a bad movie, but because it's just so ugly. I can't say anything against John Waters' work on this film because I know this is his total vision. Its unapologetic and grimy, and I get the feeling that's exactly what John wanted. Its just not for me.
November 29, 2014
Infamous sick comedy featuring coprophagia, chickens killed during sex, unusual camera zooms, and a fatty Bab Johnson competing over the title "The Filthiest Person Alive" against the Marbles.
November 7, 2014
The most profane exploitation films not even for me in my according standards as a Christian wise enough to avoid such vulgar or pornographic concepts in such cinemas of America.
November 6, 2014
'An exercise in poop taste' - is an apt tagline and that's all there is to it.
½ October 9, 2014
This movie isn't worth stomaching. I love dark satires, risqué crude comedy, dry humor ect, but this is just disgusting. It's trying too hard to be disturbing that it actually succeeds. It will quite literally test your gag-reflex. The only person I knew who thought this was funny was my husband,,, in middle school. It was so disgusting he thought it was hilarious. Obviously, he would never watch it again and tells others to avoid because its so stupid and gross. So, congrats. A movie a 12 year old boys obsessed with bodily waste find humorous.
½ September 23, 2014
Pink Flamingos hasn't held up particularly well, is my guess. It's conceptually solid, but 40 years of shock later has left it with a weak punch. Not that age should imply an inability to shock properly. After all, Salo was released a mere 5 years later. Sweet Movie a mere 2.

So perhaps the more key aspect to Pink Flamingos' inability to maintain momentum at this point in life seems to be how it is a very context-dependent movie, and that context is not 2014. But hell, I'm just taking a critic's word for it, I wasn't around for the 70s any more than any one else in my generation.

Of course, the basic story still works pretty good in 2014. As a battle between two families as to who is filthier, you can see how much would be applicable today. It's the details that end up a bit tame. In the 70s sending someone a turd in a box would probably somewhat horrifying. Today you can go on YouTube and watch someone lay a turd on the floor of a retail store. And they do it without the slick sheen of John Waters' cariacturization. The real world has upstaged Pink Flamingos more than any movie possibly could.

Maybe this awkward bit of prescience is the true brilliance behind Pink Flamingos. That John Waters could make such an outrageous film and a mere 40 years later we can watch it and have a hard time distinguishing these scenes from any other yahoo uploading crap onto the Internet. Whatever Waters was saying about the 70s, America seems to have taken as a personal agenda.
½ June 18, 2014
Una película de muy mal gusto que hay que saber apreciar dentro de su mal gusto, personajes y escenas icónicas que solo se ven una vez en el cine, y solo pueden salir de la mente retorcida del genio del trash John Waters.
June 12, 2014
you can only hate or like Pink Flamingos, there's no other reaction. Disgusting in every way and easily the most disturbing movie I have ever seen.
June 12, 2014
Breathtaking... A film such an idiot that you can't help but be awed in its stupidity. I mean, in how many films can you watch a transvestite gobble a REAL dog turd from the street?
June 12, 2014
A masterpiece of bad taste cinema. What makes this film truly great is that, even by today's standards, when you can download porn off the internet for free and the Jackass franchise has shown how far stunts can go, this films still manages to be shocking and repulsive. John Waters has an instinctive knowledge about what people don't want to see, and he puts it on the screen with fiendish delight.
½ June 9, 2014
I cannot imagine what goes on inside John Waters head If this is the sort of stuff he sees fit to unleash on the cinema going public. This is distgusting, depraved, and pointless. It contains the worst animal cruelty that I have ever seen on film and quite possibly, the worst acting. Anyone connected with making such a film should be embarrassed and ashamed.
½ May 17, 2014
Besides the remake of Hairspray, this is the first of the films by John Waters that I have seen and I understand why some people say what they say about John Waters.
This film is filled to the brim with terrible acting (not Divine), terrible cinematography, unfitting dialogue, and creepy and filthy acts.
What the hell is with Edie and her eggs. Omg.
I need to watch this again, begin really high.
April 25, 2014
The term "film" seems an unsuited expression to apply to all the demented shocks John Waters has cooked up to put a grimace on our faces. Observing it as a "thing" is more appropriate - and a thing that should be locked away for indecency and unchecked filth.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
½ April 20, 2014
A couple who keep impregnated women chained in their cellar so they can sell the babies to lesbians for adoption try to challenge Divine for the title of "filthiest person alive." Contains every kind of cruelty, obscenity and freak show behavior you can imagine, notoriously including unsimulated coprophagia and chickens killed during sex. There is some value in pushing the envelope so you can see where the line should be, but even John Waters realized he had gone too far with this one.
April 12, 2014
Afters years of watching terrible bootleg copies, I finally caught this on the big screen last night in all it's trashy cinematic glory. This is film making at its purest. Radical, unhinged and shamelessly perverse.
Page 2 of 88