The Pirates Who Don't Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pirates Who Don't Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
August 22, 2008
While the movie is harmless, it lacks a certain spark to be really entertaining. Lots of the jokes are flat and obvious, without being awful.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews
May 17, 2008
Not only did I want to go to sleep the entire time, but I wouldn't watch this movie again if you told me my life depended on it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
February 24, 2008
Ahoy! There be decent family fare among the January junk seas!
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
February 1, 2008
As I wasn't expecting much, I must say that Pirates doesn't disappoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
January 17, 2008
...harmless fun for small kids...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Cynthia Fuchs
January 17, 2008
Young children appreciate all the bouncing shapes and bright colors (speaking of which, you might wonder why Robert the Terrible is a darker shade of green than any of his relatives), but anyone over six will be bored early and often.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
January 15, 2008
I kept hoping someone would arrive on the scene with a Veg-O-Matic and put a stop to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
January 15, 2008
Like steamed veggies: Good for you, but bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
January 14, 2008
The notion of no arms, especially when they're sword fighting and the swords just sort of float in front of their bodies, seems like a long way to go to establish unique cartoon characters.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin Carr
Film School Rejects
January 13, 2008
While there's adventure and clever gags... I could have done with a little more silliness and some more songs like 'The Hairbrush Song' and 'Bellybutton.'
Full Review | Original Score: B
Nell Minow
January 12, 2008
The colorful but limited animation can seem static on the big screen, but the gentle humor and equally gentle lessons will appeal to younger children and long-time fans.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
January 12, 2008
It's full of mild goofiness and equally mild messages about believing in yourself. It's all good-natured enough. It just isn't actually good.
| Original Score: C-
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
January 12, 2008
Will probably bring more tiny buccaneers into the VeggieTales fold, but some adult viewers may feel like walking the plank before the film is over.
Brian Orndorf
January 11, 2008
I have to admit that this animated VeggieTales endeavor is far more entertaining and artistically competent than anything offered in the last two Pirates of the Caribbean movies.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
January 11, 2008
The trio learns that heroes come in all sizes, hardly a revelation to audiences of any age.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
January 11, 2008
This is no savvy Toy Story. It's a boilerplate plot like one you might find in any morning cartoon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
January 11, 2008
It's a much better film than the last big-screen Veggie outing, with good-looking character design, catchy songs, a wisecracking script and more skillfully disguised messages.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
January 11, 2008
I've seen more exciting no-smoking announcements in theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
January 11, 2008
Aside from the fun musical scenes, the script is pretty lackluster, and the animation could generously be described as old-fashioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kevin Crust
Los Angeles Times
January 11, 2008
A gentle adventure-comedy that sails a heroes' journey so straight and true that Joseph Campbell would smile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2