The Pirates Who Don't Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pirates Who Don't Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
August 22, 2008
While the movie is harmless, it lacks a certain spark to be really entertaining. Lots of the jokes are flat and obvious, without being awful.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews
May 17, 2008
Not only did I want to go to sleep the entire time, but I wouldn't watch this movie again if you told me my life depended on it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Brian Orndorf
eFilmCritic.com
January 11, 2008
I have to admit that this animated VeggieTales endeavor is far more entertaining and artistically competent than anything offered in the last two Pirates of the Caribbean movies.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
January 11, 2008
The trio learns that heroes come in all sizes, hardly a revelation to audiences of any age.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Drew Toal
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 11, 2008
[A]n attack by Cheetos dentata... is deeply unsettling in a way I'm not sure a children's movie is supposed to be...
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
January 12, 2008
Will probably bring more tiny buccaneers into the VeggieTales fold, but some adult viewers may feel like walking the plank before the film is over.
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
January 11, 2008
I've seen more exciting no-smoking announcements in theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
January 14, 2008
The notion of no arms, especially when they're sword fighting and the swords just sort of float in front of their bodies, seems like a long way to go to establish unique cartoon characters.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ed Gonzalez
Village Voice
January 8, 2008
Humorless, incoherent, and ugly as sin.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
Boxoffice Magazine
January 10, 2008
Is it a coincidence or an animator's inside joke that the veggies' innocent smiles of joy look exactly like Cartman's when he enters a room of Cheesy Poofs?
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
January 15, 2008
I kept hoping someone would arrive on the scene with a Veg-O-Matic and put a stop to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
January 12, 2008
It's full of mild goofiness and equally mild messages about believing in yourself. It's all good-natured enough. It just isn't actually good.
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
January 11, 2008
This is no savvy Toy Story. It's a boilerplate plot like one you might find in any morning cartoon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ethan Alter
Film Journal International
January 10, 2008
What is missing from the film is any spark of imagination.
Kevin B. Lee
Slant Magazine
January 10, 2008
Pirates is a film whose insipid, generic plainness is its worse offense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
January 11, 2008
Aside from the fun musical scenes, the script is pretty lackluster, and the animation could generously be described as old-fashioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
January 17, 2008
Young children appreciate all the bouncing shapes and bright colors (speaking of which, you might wonder why Robert the Terrible is a darker shade of green than any of his relatives), but anyone over six will be bored early and often.
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
February 1, 2008
As I wasn't expecting much, I must say that Pirates doesn't disappoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 2