Pixels Reviews

Aug 13, 2022
...a fun, innovative premise that is, for the most part, employed to underwhelming and frequently tedious effect...
Jun 9, 2022
The humor is juvenile and inane, the characters are unbelievable and over-the-top, and the overall temperament is childish.
Feb 3, 2021
The movie is content to stick to the Sandler template, using the inventive premise as a frame for another of the comedian's tired romantic hook-ups.
Sep 20, 2020
A flawed film that serves up just enough of a good time.
Jul 15, 2020
Everyone involved [including the audience] deserves a participation award.
Jan 10, 2020
The combination of Columbus' bland, corporate filmmaking and Sandler's tone deaf performance proves particularly grating.
Nov 13, 2019
Pixels is easy to hate for audiences going in looking for a movie with real substance. What you see is what you get with this film, no less, and definitely no more - no matter how hard it tries.
Aug 15, 2019
The film catalogues the worst set of performances seen in a while, particularly Dinklage's accent and Gad's pubescent antics.
May 4, 2019
Pixels knows it's not great, but it could have at least tried.
Apr 23, 2019
It's not really satisfying on any level.
Apr 6, 2019
This clumsily reanimated, effects-laden blockbuster adds up to little more than a send-up of retro gimmicks, cheesy celebrity cameos, and casual misogyny.
Mar 12, 2019
It's a head-scratcher trying to figure out the point of it all.
Feb 22, 2019
Can never quite muster the interest or ability to make us look past the inherent ridiculousness of its premise.
Feb 22, 2019
The film [has] absolutely no heart or humor to speak of. How many times must we witness Sandler's lovable loser routine, with his shallow characterization and flat delivery of his lines?
Jan 19, 2019
Despite a few inspired moments, and the presence of Peter Dinklage, this is your typical Sandler film that his Happy Madison production company has churned out the last 15 years or so.
Nov 19, 2018
I beg of you, please don't waste your time or money on this drivel. Instead, take the ten bucks you would have spent, get it changed into quarters and go to your local arcade and play the classic arcade games.
Nov 10, 2018
It is cinematic strychnine. Celluloid chlamydia. I shouldn't even be here, this isn't my jurisdiction: I'm a film critic, and Pixels isn't a movie - it's an active crime scene. And the crime is cultural vandalism.
Nov 10, 2018
Sure, Pixels tries to recapture the glory days of 80s video game mania and wrap it into an off-kilter disaster comedy that awkwardly borrows heavily from another 80s iconic big screen laugher we affectionately recognize as Ghostbusters.
Nov 1, 2018
It's insulting to its source material, it's insulting to fans of that source material, and it's insulting to its audience's intelligence.
Oct 31, 2018
There's a whole lot about the film that doesn't make sense, and its internal logic is whatever the superlative of 'null and void' is.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?