Pixels Reviews

Page 1 of 9
January 10, 2020
The combination of Columbus' bland, corporate filmmaking and Sandler's tone deaf performance proves particularly grating.
November 13, 2019
Pixels is easy to hate for audiences going in looking for a movie with real substance. What you see is what you get with this film, no less, and definitely no more - no matter how hard it tries.
August 15, 2019
The film catalogues the worst set of performances seen in a while, particularly Dinklage's accent and Gad's pubescent antics.
May 4, 2019
Pixels knows it's not great, but it could have at least tried.
April 23, 2019
It's not really satisfying on any level.
April 6, 2019
This clumsily reanimated, effects-laden blockbuster adds up to little more than a send-up of retro gimmicks, cheesy celebrity cameos, and casual misogyny.
March 12, 2019
It's a head-scratcher trying to figure out the point of it all.
February 22, 2019
Can never quite muster the interest or ability to make us look past the inherent ridiculousness of its premise.
February 22, 2019
The film [has] absolutely no heart or humor to speak of. How many times must we witness Sandler's lovable loser routine, with his shallow characterization and flat delivery of his lines?
January 19, 2019
Despite a few inspired moments, and the presence of Peter Dinklage, this is your typical Sandler film that his Happy Madison production company has churned out the last 15 years or so.
November 19, 2018
I beg of you, please don't waste your time or money on this drivel. Instead, take the ten bucks you would have spent, get it changed into quarters and go to your local arcade and play the classic arcade games.
November 10, 2018
It is cinematic strychnine. Celluloid chlamydia. I shouldn't even be here, this isn't my jurisdiction: I'm a film critic, and Pixels isn't a movie - it's an active crime scene. And the crime is cultural vandalism.
November 10, 2018
Sure, Pixels tries to recapture the glory days of 80s video game mania and wrap it into an off-kilter disaster comedy that awkwardly borrows heavily from another 80s iconic big screen laugher we affectionately recognize as Ghostbusters.
November 1, 2018
It's insulting to its source material, it's insulting to fans of that source material, and it's insulting to its audience's intelligence.
October 31, 2018
There's a whole lot about the film that doesn't make sense, and its internal logic is whatever the superlative of 'null and void' is.
March 2, 2018
I want to see what this movie would have been like if the people who made Scott Pilgrim of Wreck it Ralph made this movie...it would have been interesting, at least they understand their source material.
December 12, 2017
The result is like the old videogames: they do not have a plausible narrative... and if they have some remarkable audiovisual effects (for the time), they do not offer a resolution... [Full review in Spanish]
December 3, 2017
Q-bert terrified out of his mind, watches a child play The Last of Us, as Adam Sandler quips "is this the most violent game you have ever seen". Of course, the writers then ruin that goodwill built up by having him piss blocks
October 16, 2017
It would be so easy to lambast Pixels as a cravenly lazy, creatively defunct, possible Ponzi scheme in which audience dollars are siphoned into Adam Sandler's private jet fund.
October 11, 2017
In its favor, I will grant that it is inoffensive: you could take your kids to it, which isn't true of most of Sandler's oeuvre. But really, your kids deserve better.
Page 1 of 9