Planet of Dinosaurs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Planet of Dinosaurs Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 14, 2017
It's bad, won't pretend it's not.

Falls into that realm where it doesn't matter that it's not very good.

The stop motion is solid, though the creatures themselves lack the details of better, higher budget movies.

Watch the rifftrax version, drink some wine and eat pizza. There are worse ways to spend an evening.
July 18, 2016
If you cut all the extra scenes of just walking, the film would run about 20 minutes short of a standard movie. The plot is your standard subpar survival move, but give credit where credit is due. The stop motion in here is top notch. Miles above most special effects outside of a Ray Harryhausen film. In something this cheap and forgettable it's best to have one thing to be remembered by. After all, there's worst things you could be remembered.
April 24, 2016
Planet of the Dinosaurs (1977) ??
Absurd sci-fi of spaceship getting lost on strange planet filled with killer dinos. Derivative, hideously directed and photographed; the stop-motion giant lizards are much better at acting than the real live actors.
May 23, 2014
Although set in the future, Planet of the Dinosaurs, is pure 1970s camp, with hairstyles and jump-suits that evoke unpleasant memories of the horrible disco era.
December 2, 2013
a fun movie to watch. not much on script or acting but fun to enjoy.
Super Reviewer
½ August 30, 2013
If you're smart you'll watch the Mystery Science Theater version of this like I did. The characters are so incredibly dumb for people who are supposed to be astronauts. The only parts I really liked were when the dinosaurs killed attacked them. The rest of the movie is just them walking and complaining.
January 19, 2013
Ah, the days of making stop-motion movies about Dinosaurs. Very few of them hold up as movies today, as a general rule, but one of the worst from this period was Planet of Dinosaurs. It comes off like an early 30's attempt at tackling the material to me, but it was made in the late 70's, so that doesn't bolster its chances any. It doesn't help that the story is pretty lifeless, the performances are awful, and worst of all, the stop-motion is pretty terrible. It's there and as complete as it should be, but there's no soul or art put into it, and there's very little of it too. There aren't too many dinosaurs to be seen, and the ones we do see are pretty weak and uninteresting. The humans are pretty much of the same caliber, so it's just terrible all around. However, it does play funny if you're in the right mood, particularly if you watch it via Rifftrax. Otherwise, I'm not sure how much you'd want to see bad stop-motion in a bad movie. I wouldn't recommend it anyway.
December 31, 2012
acting sucks but a interesting story to get fascinated by.
October 18, 2012
One of my favorite B dinosaur movies, partially because the stop-motion effects are particularly impressive when you realize their limitations while making this. The other half is that the Tyrannosaurus Rex in this movie is like a serial killer from a slasher flick! Seriously, in the course of this movie, this T-Rex takes out a stegosaurus, allosaurus, rhedosaurus (google it), and most of the principal cast members! And honestly, isn't the T-Rex the reason we go to these movies?
October 6, 2012
Poorly written and acted "Star Trek: TOS" knockoff with shockingly good stop motion animation.
June 21, 2012
If you're interested in lots of repetitive walking scenes and cheesy acting, then this movie is for you.
June 4, 2012
no info = not interested
March 19, 2012
Nice animation and creature designs with a decent sci-fi plot. Characters aren't too good and the ending could of been much better, but it's a fun watch with some nice b-movie effects.
December 15, 2011
It is oh so 70s hokey and bad, but the dino effects actually aren't completely terrible.
½ August 18, 2011
This has the cheesiest dinosaur special effects and some of the cheapest production values you will ever see. The film has claymation dinosaurs and actors who look and perform like porn stars, and it's just as cheesy and utterly ridiculous as you would suspect plus more (Why does one female character have a mustache in one scene?). There are all sorts of reasons to hate this film, but the reasons to hate it are the reasons I like it because I have an undying love of B-movies. The death scenes are laughably cheesy (Claymation dinosaurs eating claymation versions of the actors? Oh God yes!), the acting and dialogue are terrible, the production values wreak of cheapness, and the storyline is incomprehensibly stupid. I can only imagine how much fun it must have been seeing this disaster on a big screen back in the 70's.
August 13, 2011
This movie is one of those so bad it is good movies, but it is different from the rest of that flock. In this film, the acting, plot, and character development are hopelessly off. The dubbing is horrible and the futuristic theme really is dropped for most of the movie (one woman really does mention that she grew up in Ohio...I feel like we are meant to identify with her, recalling earth the way it was but is for us. However, this falls flat and makes this seems like it takes place shortly in the future despite the existence of long space travel). The movie also fails to capture the lost in space, depressing aspects of being crashed on a far away planet. The strength of the film is actually in the bad effects. Despite being really bad by CGI, 2011 standards, the film actually really was top of the line at the point it came out. The stop-motion animation is really effective at creating dinosaurs that more or less are the stars of the movie. After all, these creatures have to live with these actors all up in their business. The ending, while I am unsure of what it really is supposed to be, I prefer to look at it as an alternative to the beginning of life on our earth. The story could actually be in the past and it creates a giant loop in time when people crash land and start a new earth that becomes our earth, then get the spacecraft again over time and crash land on another and populate it, etc. It is really an interesting thing if you look into it. The music in this film is simply hilarious because it really is the same melody played on different instruments (or just different octaves occasionally) on a synthesizer. Overall, the movie is a fun watch, as it is incredibly camp and hilariously outdated. If you are trying to play a drinking game with a movie, take a shot every time the woman with the midriff, the nurse in the blue dress, or the Harvey guy say or do something stupid. The film is entertaining to say the least. I recommend it for fans of hilariously bad movies or just stop-motion in general (though those have probably seen it because it is deservingly considered to have really good stop-motion).
March 1, 2011
Hippies turn to Nietzsche and cave man living while fighting dumb dinos. Jim ‚I'll take right flank‚? stole the show with his ‚god like‚? character.
February 18, 2011
One of the best dinosaur films around. I watched this like everyday from age 4-7. Hell, I still watch this one all the time.
Page 1 of 4