Planet B-Boy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Planet B-Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 26, 2009
Great entertainment backed with profound social and cultural insight about the worldwide grass roots importance of breakdancing. After admiring the dancers' athleticism, you'll want to hit the gym.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 17, 2008
Benson Lee's crackling 2007 video documentary follows five teams as they compete for a world title, with one amazing number after another showcasing the dancers' chorus-line precision, gymnastic athleticism, and thematic novelty.
October 18, 2008
What they all have in common, as Quik, a member of Japan's Ichigeki Crew, explains, is a passion for the border-busting power dance, movement as a movement, freedom of expression, wild-style.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 30, 2008
An exhilarating documentary about street dancers from around the globe.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 30, 2008
If Benson Lee's intention with Planet B-Boy was to set the record straight on the continuing story of break dancers, then his documentary has to be counted a success. With a few caveats.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 30, 2008
What's fun about Benson Lee's documentary Planet B-Boy isn't just the amazingly athletic displays of B-boys he puts on screen, but the film's sense of cultural discovery.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2008
If I could, I would spin on my head to express how much I enjoyed Planet B-Boy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 9, 2008
While the film stresses how hip-hop unifies different cultures, it's interesting to see how each culture's youth has appropriated the principles of hip-hop for its own self-expression.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
The seemingly endless performances can be a bit much, but Lee's sensitivity to the need of these dancers to say something about themselves through dazzling moves is memorable.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 25, 2008
Hip-hop fans should flock to Planet B-Boy to see what break dancing looks like around the world, but so should movie-musical and performance-art fans who love intelligent and aggressive improvisation and energy.
Read More | Original Score: B+
April 24, 2008
Regardless of its shortcomings, there is a variety of break dancing on display here that will bring the viewer up to speed on the state of the art.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 11, 2008
Planet B-Boy effortlessly makes the case that breakdancing is a genuine art form. Mixing ballet and the street, the crews are dazzling.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 11, 2008
An exuberant study of the ways competition and collaboration can team up when it comes to the creativity of these guys.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 4, 2008
The battles in Benson Lee's documentary Planet B-Boy are exceptional. The movie's not bad, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2008
...a well-balance work that captures the often jaw dropping performances by the dancers.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 30, 2008
After watching this movie, I felt like every nerve ending in my body was shooting sparks. No wonder these boys dedicate their lives to this dance. It's electrifying.
March 28, 2008
The film overflows with displays of explosive dancing and does a superb job showing the form's incredible complexity and technical diversity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 28, 2008
So while I might complain about some of Lee's filmmaking choices, I feel nothing but wonder and delight at seeing these dancers excel at something they love so passionately.
March 27, 2008
[Director] Lee makes a spirited and persuasive case for break dancing, not only as an art form of strength, beauty, discipline and instinct, but as a means of transcending caste and culture.
Page 1 of 3