Play Misty for Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Play Misty for Me Reviews

Page 1 of 32
December 21, 2017
Don't ask me how, but this unintentionally hilarious and unforgivably awkward debut has managed to garner critical acclaim.
November 15, 2017
With this directorial debut from Clint Eastwood, we have a film that accidentally ends up being a kind of surprisingly emblematic microcosm of the filmography that would continue beyond it - at least in my eyes. Like a large portion of Eastwood films, "Play Misty For Me" is not perfect. Often operating at a gentle simmer rather than a rolling boil, it takes its time to build its suspense and tension, often sacrificing the viewer's attention here and there. But when it's on it's really on, especially with some of the more intense scenes and the film's truly hilarious (in the best way) conclusion. Also there's a lot of jazz. So, yeah. Definitely an Eastwood film. Overall, though, it's definitely worth a watch. Not just if you're an Eastwood fan, but if you're a fan of thrillers or the "psychotic ex-lover" subgenre, which this movie is kind of an nifty prototype of.
October 9, 2017
not one of clints best, but its got nice scenery
½ September 5, 2017
Entertaining, but a bit unbelievable. There was also a tacky love scene with a waterfall that was so bad I was embarrassed for Eastwood.
September 3, 2017
The film has its moments, but is nothing particularly memorable. It's mostly noteworthy for being Eastwood's directorial debut.
August 25, 2017
Time hasn't been that kind to Play Misty For Me. Edgy and original for its time, this type of story has been done to death since and in quite a few cases, more effectively.
August 22, 2017
Eastwood's directorial debut is a thrilling adventure that gets more tense as every minute goes by. Sure you can see the age of the film by now, but Jessica Walter's performance as the deranged fan was top notch
½ August 21, 2017
While I feel the film has aged indefinitely, it packs enough punches to still be effective.
August 9, 2017
This still is probably the most frightening movie I have ever seen. However, I do not watch movies that are going to frighten and/or gore me to death. That said, this is probably much too weak a cup of tea for anyone these days. Jessica Walter was SO convincing in this movie, I have seldom wanted to see her in anything else. It's something about her eyes.
March 10, 2017
I love clint eastwood soooo. this is a thriller I've seen a couple times he's such a great actor interesting storyline:) && this was his first movie as director:)
January 5, 2017
Boring movie. Stopped paying attention because it did not entertain me. Just a boring thriller with an annoying lead actress and a bland Clint Eastwood.
½ December 22, 2016
Even if time hasn't done wonders for it, Play Misty for Me still retains a surprising amount of suspense and unpredictability with its long-lasting (now overused) formula.
November 20, 2016
Well, well, well....who knew Lucille Bluth was such a nutcase!

The first hour of this movie is absolute, stalker movie perfection but then the love montage between Eastwood and Donna Mills and overly long footage of the Monterrey Jazz Festival grinds everything to an unfortunate halt.

The twists aren't exactly revolutionary for today's audiences but I can only imagine how shocking and fun this movie probably was to those who got to see it fresh in 1971. For Eastwood's first effort behind the camera this ain't too shabby at all.
½ November 5, 2016
A taut thriller, with an outstanding performance by Jessica Walter. Maybe the best movie ever for showing off the beauty of the Monterey Peninsula ?
August 27, 2016
tedious. Sure, the thrills come, but only after over an hour of trying to understand (a) how Eastwood's character was ever employed as a DJ, (b) why anyone would be interested in the character, and (c) how Eastwood was ever employed as an actor. Walters' excellent work only accentuates Clint's woodenness.
½ July 28, 2016
You still can't fix crazy. So this is about a radio DJ (Clint Eastwood). Every time he spins, he gets a female caller (Jessica Walter) who requests that he plays the song Misty. They meet up in a bar one night and hook up, which turns out to be a gigantic mistake, given the fact that she is obsessive and completely out of her mind. I am a gigantic fan of the manly and forever squinting Clint Eastwood, but I am mostly familiar with his Westerns and not much else. I must confess that I thought that this was one of his cop movies, so I was understandably surprised when he hit the screen as a smooth talking radio DJ. I also didn't know that this had a very young Jessica Walter in it (this was a movie that I was truly unfamiliar with other than in name), and she is an actress who I somewhat thought was just born old a la Morgan Freeman. The movie that this most immediately reminded me of is Fatal Attraction, and you would be blind if you cannot connect the dots. It's funny, because you can go so long, thinking you watched the original template of something only to stumble on a precursor and realize that you've been completely wrong for years. For example, I thought Halloween was the original slasher until I watched Black Christmas, and I thought the same thing about that movie until I saw Peeping Tom. It's totally the same thing here... and there's nothing wrong with treading traveled waters, you just kind of know how it is going to go, because you've seen this movie before. You know the size of the situation right away once you see the instant attachment, as it is not something that any sane or rational person would just jump to. It's trashy, but it kind of sucks you in, because on a base level, everybody loves to be distracted by a soap opera if it is done right. This was just the right movie for me on a lazy Saturday afternoon dog sitting at an in-law's house. The way that Eastwood delivers lines is worth the price of admission in itself. He also directs as well, and he does a fine job, although there are a few minor technical things that I had gripes with, namely a few voiceovers over distant shots that feel awkwardly pieced together. This is a very valid argument on why you should always pass on crazy, and this is a fine movie for all of the Eastwood fans out there.
½ July 23, 2016
The blueprints for Fatal Attraction.
½ May 14, 2016
Good film which will surely ring a few bells with many poor geezers who have regretted a one night stand with one of the many women who have stepped across the line of being mentally unstable to complete nutterness.
½ February 23, 2016
There are too many signs of Eastwood's then-amateurism, but Jessica Walter's performance lives up to its reputation.
Page 1 of 32