Playing It Cool Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 28, 2018
An adorable cast cannot save this gimmicky, romantically lacking rom-com.
February 1, 2018
'Playing it Cool' is disappointing not because it's unlike any other romantic comedy, but because it tries not to be one and fails spectacularly. [Full review in Spanish]
October 16, 2017
I have uncontrollable hatred for this movie. I hate it with the fire of a thousand suns. It's the dumbest movie I've seen in recent memory.
December 18, 2015
Worst of all, though, is its wholesale waste of an insanely talented cast - and not just Evans and Monaghan... I enjoy every last one of them, but not like this. Dear god, not like this.
August 14, 2015
Far from playing it cool, the filmmakers are trying way too hard to look cool, and so they achieve the opposite.
July 17, 2015
The result is catastrophic. [full review in Spanish]
July 17, 2015
A Rom-Com that tries to hide the lack of originality in the genre by using innovative storytelling. [full review in Spanish]
May 12, 2015
Good chemistry between the leads but nothing else.
May 9, 2015
'Playing It Cool' gave me a bad case of the rom-com blues. I was expecting '500 Days of Summer' and got 'Fool's Gold' instead.
May 8, 2015
Despite a few amusing diversions, the film consists of endless relationship discussions without any meaningful insight to show for it.
May 8, 2015
Tookie director Justin Reardon strains to make [Playing it Cool] the very kind of anti-rom com Me might actually enjoy, but we've seen it all before.
May 8, 2015
Only the really strong cast, including great chemistry between the leads, keeps "Playing It Cool" from totally derailing.
May 8, 2015
Screenwriters Chris Shafer and Paul Vicknair's script feels like a first draft that was written in one night as they got pumped up on Red Bull and speed-watched Netflix.
May 7, 2015
You know you're in trouble when almost every character is given a name except the two leads.
May 7, 2015
Proceeding with a strained quirkiness that infects much more than the names of its main characters, this first feature by Justin Reardon is a paean to the kind of narcissism that sucks the air out of every scene.
May 7, 2015
It's not a great movie, but there are enough laughs and clever ideas to make it a passably entertaining comedy.
May 7, 2015
If "Playing It Cool" is meant to be an ironic interpretation of what happens to these characters, the film isn't sharp, smart or insightful enough about how actual humans interact to pull it off.
May 7, 2015
As characters endlessly digress on the differences between rom-coms and real life, the film evinces a schizophrenic relationship with its own inside-baseball cynicism.
May 7, 2015
There's nothing clever or subversive about Playing It Cool, which makes the film's overt self-satisfaction exponentially more infuriating.
May 7, 2015
It's dreary, unfunny work, but as a catalyst for future career reinvention, Evans couldn't have made a better professional choice.
Page 1 of 2