Pokemon the First Movie - Mewtwo vs. Mew - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pokemon the First Movie - Mewtwo vs. Mew Reviews

Page 2 of 5
January 1, 2000
It makes the Star Wars mythos play like Pong.
January 1, 2000
Not only does Pokemon -- the First Movie threaten to strike again with the sequel-readiness of its title, but the overlong 89-minute opus aims to thrill tykes by being slightly less than adorable -- meaning you shouldn't trust these creatures any f
January 1, 2000
A shameless plug for Pokemon merchandise? You betcha.
January 1, 2000
This pacifist spirit of brotherhood echoes the heroics in Princess Mononoke and other anime titles, but the artistic gap between the Miyazaki masterpiece and this project is huge.
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
This is little more than a promotional effort to draw kids to the theater to get a free card and then encourage them to buy more of the newly introduced characters.
January 1, 2000
There are only two explanations for why anyone would make Pokemon: The First Movie: alien abduction or drugs.
January 1, 2000
I'm about forty years too old to take this movie seriously. Or even understand it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 8, 2003
The kids in the audience at my showing were certainly enthralled, and I only fell asleep twice.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 15, 2019
Inspiring message, uninspired movie.
January 1, 2000
Even some children will eventually grow restless with the flat, unimaginative drawings and bland light-rock soundtrack
January 1, 2000
Just because something makes money doesn't mean that it is good.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 28, 2002
The film is baffling, amateur and somewhat contradictory about violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
It's so bad, I begged the projectionist to show me The Haunting instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
January 1, 2000
The animation is crude, and there's certainly not much depth to the storyline or the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
You may not want to deny your children the pleasure of seeing it, but there's no reason whatsoever that you can't try to spare yourself from the ordeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
A lot has been written about the admirable lessons that Pokemon teaches children about responsibility, teamwork and obedience. But some unfortunate messages are being sent as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
There isn't a moment of wonder or poetry in its very long 69 minutes.
January 1, 2000
I shudder at the thought of several sequels to this flick.
January 1, 2000
My name is Bob, and I am a father who is very afraid.
Page 2 of 5