Pokemon the First Movie - Mewtwo vs. Mew - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pokemon the First Movie - Mewtwo vs. Mew Reviews

Page 2 of 4
January 1, 2000
There are only two explanations for why anyone would make Pokemon: The First Movie: alien abduction or drugs.
January 1, 2000
I'm about forty years too old to take this movie seriously. Or even understand it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 8, 2003
The kids in the audience at my showing were certainly enthralled, and I only fell asleep twice.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
Even some children will eventually grow restless with the flat, unimaginative drawings and bland light-rock soundtrack
January 1, 2000
Just because something makes money doesn't mean that it is good.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 28, 2002
The film is baffling, amateur and somewhat contradictory about violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
It's so bad, I begged the projectionist to show me The Haunting instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
January 1, 2000
The animation is crude, and there's certainly not much depth to the storyline or the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
You may not want to deny your children the pleasure of seeing it, but there's no reason whatsoever that you can't try to spare yourself from the ordeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
A lot has been written about the admirable lessons that Pokemon teaches children about responsibility, teamwork and obedience. But some unfortunate messages are being sent as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
There isn't a moment of wonder or poetry in its very long 69 minutes.
January 1, 2000
I shudder at the thought of several sequels to this flick.
January 1, 2000
My name is Bob, and I am a father who is very afraid.
January 1, 2000
The first half of the movie is filled with mystery, danger, and excitement. Unfortunately, heavy moral overtones start creeping in midway through the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 67/100
January 1, 2000
Grossly offensive.
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
There is a new definition of the term, 'critic-proof movie,' and it goes by the name Pokémon: The First Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
Violent and dark -- and even a bit disturbing, especially for what's supposed to be a G-rated film.
January 1, 2000
Strictly a kids' movie.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
For the record, it isn't terrible. It's far from a milestone in Japanese animation, and not an especially memorable entertainment. Yet it doesn't try to be either of those things.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 4