Pollock - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pollock Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 13, 2000
Other than depicting his wild mood swings, there's not too much to this cinematic representation of Pollock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 14, 2000
Brawls and bravado aside, Pollock has the stiffness of an official biography.
February 19, 2001
Flat and uninvolving, flash cards from a life but with no life itself.
March 1, 2001
It's the same movie we get every time Hollywood tackles tortured geniuses.
March 5, 2001
Only the artwork and scenes focused on the process of painting get near the truth. The rest is hazy bluster.
June 13, 2002
Harden deserves recognition more than her co-stars, if only because she creates the sole sympathetic character.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
October 24, 2001
Jackson Pollock may have been the wild beast who broke through the ice, but Ed Harris proves to be a tame animal indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 25, 2013
a plodding glimpse of the latter part of Jackson Pollock's life
Full Review | Original Score: D+
June 21, 2002
...can't ever seem to find its way out of Denis Leary's all-purpose tortured artist biopic template: 'I'm drunk, I'm nobody. I'm drunk, I'm famous. I'm drunk, I'm dead.'
December 14, 2000
The production, like Pollack's life, feels truncated and unfulfilled.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
December 15, 2000
A smart but disappointingly conventional portrait of an artist who had little use for convention.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 15, 2000
It's the stuff of exciting moviemaking, but Pollock is decidedly underwhelming.
February 7, 2001
Feels like a visual sampling of the artist's life, rather than a revealing exploration of the person behind the creative and cultural legend.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 16, 2001
A precise, deliberate movie, so carefully calibrated in its tone and structure that, as a whole, it ends up reading like a completely well-intentioned lack of guts.
February 17, 2001
A series of flashy scenes that work on their own histrionic terms but add up to nothing you can't predict in the first five minutes.
February 23, 2001
Repeats the same old stereotypes of 'artistic greatness,' and ends up feeling a little bit worn out.
March 8, 2001
Just -- yes, just -- one more film about that perennially obdurate subject, an artist.
December 8, 2002
Passion can easily lead to self-indulgence, and that is certainly the unfortunate case here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 5, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 6