POM Wonderful Presents: The Greatest Movie Ever Sold - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

POM Wonderful Presents: The Greatest Movie Ever Sold Reviews

Page 2 of 7
August 7, 2011
Most entertaining doco of the year
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 7, 2011
It's product placement on steroids, or supersized, as he might have called it
August 7, 2011
Logical, thought-provoking and disarmingly funny, the ubiquitous, smooth-talking, brash Spurlock explores the topic of product placement, visibility, fame and credibility as he shamelessly sells his idea to create a movie funded entirely by its sponsors
August 4, 2011
It is a wake-up call for audiences to wise up to all the advertising that streams into our lives. Although, I have to admit, after the movie was over? I was kinda thirsty for a POM.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 15, 2011
Silly rather than scholarly, The Greatest Movie Ever Sold is a fun and funny movie, guaranteed to make you think about advertising, but not gunning to change how you think about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 10, 2011
It makes one wish Spurlock would show a bit more intellectual and political muscle rather than being content with lightweight showmanship that is in thrall to the commodification it claims to abhor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 3, 2011
Watching The Greatest Movie Ever Sold is like popping in a DVD that has a making-of documentary but no feature presentation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 1, 2011
Spurlock's irresistible sense of showmanship once more takes information we all know, and he presents it in a surprisingly engaging and entertaining way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 1, 2011
...almost precisely what we've come to expect from Spurlock - a diverting hour and a half riff on that which we already know.
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
May 27, 2011
While Michael Moore at least has the sense to turn the camera away from himself long enough to burrow into the subject at hand, Morgan Spurlock demonstrates that it's hard for him to keep his mind on anything besides Morgan Spurlock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 27, 2011
...a good micro-review for this movie would be "accomplishes what it sets out to do...nothing more or less."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 26, 2011
Spurlock's filmmaking sensibilities run more to the arm-twisting of Michael Moore crossed with the look-at-me showmanship of a P.T. Barnum. Ultimately, the thing Spurlock sells best in The Greatest Movie Ever Sold is himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 26, 2011
Spurlock's stunts only prove that the strategy works, not what can be done besides beware, except he makes it seems so cheery. I'll certainly keep his sponsors in mind when needing air travel, a soft drink or a shampoo fit for humans and horses.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 21, 2011
This 88-minute satirical spoof doesn't tell us anything we don't already know. It runs out of steam after 45 minutes and you find yourself looking for the nearest exit. Spurlock is not in the same filmmaking league as Michael Moore, whose...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 20, 2011
...where else are you going to see Donald Trump, Noam Chomsky and Brett Ratner interviewed in the same film?
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 20, 2011
Morgan Spurlock has sold his soul to help save yours.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 20, 2011
It's not a heavyweight documentary, chock-full of deep lessons or shocking revelations, but Spurlock makes for a pleasant star around which the rest of this breezy movie can orbit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 20, 2011
Illuminating and entertaining, but toothless: It intends to make us more aware of the way advertisers manipulate us, but it also makes advertising seem sort of fun -- even welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 20, 2011
Spurlock, the affable activist behind "Super Size Me," aims a not particularly harsh spotlight on product placement in his new documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 19, 2011
Beyond delivering a brilliant premise, Spurlock never tells us much more than we already know.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 2 of 7