Presumed Innocent - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Presumed Innocent Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
July 29, 2010
I mean, honestly. Sabich torching his marriage and career makes perfect sense opposite a full-court-press from the likes of Greta Scacchi. Pakula was no fool.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
May 28, 2010
As moody mysteries go, the courtroom drama Presumed Innocent is among the moodiest. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
December 23, 2009
No masterpiece, but it has a certain snappiness to it that is entertaining, at least.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Variety Staff
Variety
March 26, 2009
Honed to a riveting intensity by director Alan Pakula and featuring the tightest script imaginable, Presumed Innocent is a demanding, disturbing javelin of a courtroom murder mystery.
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
June 24, 2006
In a welcome return to suspense, Pakula effectively conveys the claustrophobia of domesticity and courtroom procedure.
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
October 10, 2005
Solid courtroom melodrama from the Scott Turow novel
| Original Score: 3/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
March 7, 2004
Excellent courtroom drama.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 12, 2003
First-class thriller -- even though my role was cut out of it!
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
Mr. Ford, who comes alive in the flashbacks recalling his tempestuous affair with Carolyn, spends much of the film with a wary, cautious expression masking all other emotions. He does this with flawless delicacy...
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
May 7, 2003
So good you'll wonder why John Grisham gets all the cinematic adaptations and not Scott Turow.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 12, 2001
Ford -- breaking again from his Indiana Jones heroics -- is astonishingly fine in a performance of controlled intensity.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
The adaptation of Turow's novel does a good job of presenting the evidence as needed, and no more than is needed, while allowing time for the characters to establish themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Film.com
January 1, 2000
An engrossing adult drama that relies on complex characterizations and twisty plotting, and doesn't ask us to accept its central character as a superman.
Top Critic
Joe Brown
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Competent, resolutely unflashy.
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
A solid whodunit.
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
A first-rate, intelligent thriller/courtroom drama of the kind we see all too seldom these days.
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
A tightly plotted mystery that often threatens to leave loose ends and them very cleverly ties them all together.
Full Review | Original Score: high +2 out of -4..+4
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
July 27, 1990
I think I liked it much more the first time that I saw it a few years ago, and maybe because I didn't know how it was gonna end at the time. Knowing what I did this time around, the film was still quite engaging for the most part.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
August 7, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Moriarty
Ain't It Cool Movie Reviews
June 25, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 3