Pretty Maids All in a Row - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pretty Maids All in a Row Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 11, 2016
Standard nerd fantasy low grade soft-core porno, why is this famous as being bizarre?
½ August 22, 2016
Pretty dumb, even if it's in a row.
August 9, 2016
Weird, freaky movie.
Super pervy, dark humor, and extremely questionable that it should ever have been made. Gene Roddenberry, how could you?
½ August 23, 2015
For its time this was a very sexy erotic movie!
July 10, 2014
After seeing Gene Roddenberry's name in the credits as writer/producer, I'm surprised I never went out of my way to watch this film. Directed by Roger Vadim, this film is a sly black comedy about a series of murders on a high school campus of pretty young school girls during the hight of the sexual revolution. Rock Hudson plays coach/guidance counselor Michael "Tiger" McDrew, who charms all the women around him and also helps out one sexually frustrated student, mostly by playing matchmaker between him and hot young (and recently broken up) teacher Angie Dickinson. It's pretty fun to see the normally straight laced Hudson playing more of a sleazy lothario. Telly Savalas plays the detective investigating the murders and the cast of suspects also includes Roddy McDowall, Keenan Wynn and "Star Trek" alumni, James Doohan. Lalo Schifrin provided the lively score. It's not a classic, but it's a smart and twisted comedy that is also something of a period timecapsule.
Super Reviewer
June 28, 2014
Fun as a view to the tenor of the times it was made with a VERY 70's vibe, although no one says "let's rap" fortunately, that's it major attraction.
½ June 25, 2014
remove all the sex & nudity in this and ur left with just silliness
October 28, 2013
Cute 70s babes aside, this film is so dull it is nearly unwatchable. Definitely something that can be sealed away in the vaults.
September 26, 2011
good stuff directed by jane fonda's ex and the director of "barbarella".
May 28, 2011
Has a definite oddball factor, but it's not the most rewarding watch. Although given the subject matter, it's kind of a marvel that the tone is as successful as it is even if it never amounts to much. Theme song, improbably enough, by The Osmonds.
February 27, 2011
Sexploitation at its best. High school girls are mysteriously being murdered and a young virgin boy finds himself caught in the middle. This film had me rolling on the ground laughing. Roddy McDowall is hilarious as the bumbling principal. Rock Hudson is sexy, dangerous and probably the only one who looked good with the 70's porn mustache. Angie Dickinson is gorgeous and plays her character flawlessly (as always).
This is a rare, but great dark comedy that is sure to keep you entertained. Download it right now!
February 20, 2011
This should be perfect, but the Gene Roddenberry script just fails. With that said, the tone of this film is incredible and way ahead of it's time. It's impossible not to think about Heathers when watching this. Rock Hudson fucking a bunch of high school girls and then killing them should be the greatest movie ever made. The cast is uniformly excellent, especially Angie Dickinson. I just wish the script was able to keep up with the promise of the plot and the casting. So worth watching, though. You'll never understand how it even got made.
Super Reviewer
½ February 6, 2011
Did you know Star Trek's Gene Roddenberry wrote and produced a nudity filled slasher film? Neither did I, and it's not great, but boy is it filled with hot 70's tail! Also Rock Hudson's mustache is bitchin.
January 27, 2011
What a weird and uncomfortable film. Rock Hudson, rocking a porn mustache, and a few extra pounds, is extremely creepy as the hedonistic coach/guidance counselor who can't seem to stop bedding the pretty young girls from his school. The film's tone is uneven, jumping from sex romp to murder and back again with little rhyme or reason. It's written by Gene Roddenberry, and I did find it funny to see two Roddenberry regulars, James Doohan and William Campbell show up. And the title is accurate. There are a lot of pretty maidsâ¦well, I don't know that they're maids, but very pretty young women whatever the case. But surprisingly little skin for a film like this. I can't recommend the film, as it's not especially good. But for someone interested in film of the time, and in strange, off the wall stuff, it's worth checking out.
January 7, 2011
Written by the creator of Star Trek and directed by the man behind Barbarella, Pretty Maids All In A Row is a fascinating film oddity about John David Carson's sexual education under the tutelage of Rock Hudson's deviant athletic coach and Angie Dickinson's criminally sexy substitute teacher. Plus there are a series of Agatha Christie-like murders popping up all over the school! Fun bit turns from Telly Savalas, Roddy Mcdowall, James Doohan and Keenan Wynn ensure that the film is never boring and its splendidly unPC vibe makes for entertaining night at the movies. VF.
½ October 27, 2010
Whaaaat? I wish I'd gone to this school! French filmmaker Roger Vadim's first American film (made right after Barbarella) is one strange, messy, silly little film. Pretty Maids All in a Row has a little bit of everything; part sex comedy, part murder mystery; and it never seems to slow down, even when it does spin it's wheels. It doesn't go very far or say very much, but there is something here, and you haven't seen anything much like it before.
½ April 8, 2010
You know you have a real winner on your hands when Rock Hudson's character "Tiger" tells one of the main characters his master plan, "We'll divide effective control of the high school. I'll be principal and you'll be the vice-principal." Yeah, it's real genius we're dealing with here. You almost wish the movie had stuck to the insane killer who was pinning notes to the dead female victims' butts. Did I just write that? Oh yeah I did cause that's in this mess. To think that's the good part too. Well that and the sexy 60s gal flesh on display. Too bad it's old, wrinkled, and probably in the ground at this point. As one criterion collection essayist once said, "May Pretty Maids All in Row be on his tomb stone."
March 25, 2010
Roger Vadim's tribute to the high school girl is absolutely ridiculous, but so goddamn entertaining who cares? Rock Hudson plays a married schoolteacher/football coach that seems to be sleeping with half his students. Meanwhile girls start showing up dead on school grounds while Angie Dickinson starts fooling around with a student herself. If that doesn't sound awesome to you then you are not a real person. Loaded with gorgeous girls from start to finish mostly nude and an unintentionally hilarous script. Great piece of 70's sexploitation murder mystery.
½ September 30, 2009
What the Hell was this movie? A sex comedy? A Thriller?
My Guess is that it was A sex Comedy( With more Sex than Comedy)

Leaving the Irony of Rock Hudson playing a High School Guidence Counceler who Seduces all his Pretty female Students. He is an Actor after all and in this he plays possibly one of the most masculine men I have ever seen, He's almost a parody of the Male Id.

A big problem with the Movie is that it starts off from the point of view of the sexually frustrated Ponce complete with point of view shots of several Boobs and Behinds of young girls (The movie is full of these). The movie switches to Rock Hudson's character and his never ending quest to nail young Girls. When Rock Hudson's character 'Tiger' takes over the movie poor Ponce is demoted to a Subplot about him involved in a Plan of Tiger's to get him and his teacher Ms Smith into Bed. To be fair, Ponce becomes important in the plot in the last act.

There is also a subplot with Telly Savalas' Police inspector character looking for the killer which doesn't really go anywhere.

It's a weird movie that will have it's fan's I didn't hate it but it wasn't very funny and rather muddled.
September 22, 2008
Kind of an early erotic thriller. Funny that it would be Rock Hudson to kick it all off.
Page 1 of 2