The Prime Gig - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Prime Gig Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 8, 2016
It's quite odd for me to watch this movie and what I think of it, I don't know. It's just bizarre to say that it is predictable. The story is poorly filler, the opening is a stash of ash and the ending is disappointing. So boring to watch filler to filler. Why do you do this to me? I was just expecting more from this. Vince Vaughn looks like Kenny Hotz from Kenny vs Spenny but PLEASE it's fxxxing ridiculous. Now I know I'm gonna regret saying this is that PLEASE, HELP ME KENNY VS SPENNY, YOU'RE MY ONLY HOPE!
½ December 19, 2015
The Prime Gig est un film noir situé dans le monde du télémarketing, avec un Vince Vaughn charismatique en diable dans le rôle principal. Si la première partie du film est plutôt bon enfant, avec quelques séquences très drôles (George Wendt et Rory Cochrane n'y sont pas pour rien), la deuxième avec Ed Harris et Romany Malco est beaucoup plus noire et un peu moins efficace. C'est dommage car il y a une vraie originalité dans ce film, plutôt bien rythmé et bien mis en scène par Gregory Mosher, qui évite quelques clichés inhérent au genre, sans pour autant le dynamiter. The Prime Gig est un bon film qui aurait sans doute mérité une sortie salles.
December 28, 2014
Telemarketing scam movie!
February 15, 2013
Great movie - completely encompasses the telemarketing environment - from sights, sounds, feel - perfect.
May 14, 2012
Get your balls out of your wife's purse and write me a fucking check!

Prime Gig (2000) R- An okay flick that is entertaining for one takes a good look into the telemarketing business. Always interesting to see how the salespeople try to close in on deals that nobody ever really needs and most despise having to receive such intrusive and insipid calls. Ed Harris plays it straight as the telemarketing guru just out of jail and hot on another dream job that our low-end wheeler and dealer, Vince Vaughn mailing in a typical Vaughn-like performance, falls into. It's a decent scam operation but unfortunately the movie falls prey to one too many cliches and you leave feeling nothing was accomplished. It's a difficult genre to successfully infiltrate and while it's not a total waste of time for some but for those who love film noir will see the twists and turns coming a mile away with nothing new popping up to keep you interested. It's basically second-hand film noir. Whatever.
December 13, 2011
a cripple wants to start a dance class
November 20, 2010
If you wanna see some film noir about telemarketing, this will do.
November 3, 2010
It's been a while since I've seen this movie, I'll have to watch it again to really write a real review. This is a great film, better than Boiler Room not as good as Glengarry Glen Ross. There is a scene with Vince Vaughn conning an old lady out of her savings that's classic. The scene is haunting, you seen the pain and anguish in Vince's face but he still goes through with it because he knows and the audience knows, he is compelled to do so. Ed Harris is great, Julia Ormand is great, the ending is great. Don't listen to Rotten Tomatoes, they don't always get it right...
½ September 15, 2009
This movie was painfully predictable, but it did have some good moments.
½ September 14, 2009
voe voe pendeltonia pikkusen kusetettiin=( ja voi etta ku ne miehet on niin tyhmia
March 30, 2009
Esta pelicula no se parece a nada, la historia te captura, dudas mil veces acerca de lo que esta pasando... una de las escenas finales esta muy bien construida pues realmente transmite el sentimiento de tranquilidad que Pendelton induce es sus "victimas". No se puede decir que sea buena o mala, no podria definirla
½ March 30, 2009
i wonder if anyone who doesn't have IFC has seen this.
March 28, 2009
Un film menor y muy sencillo aunque con un par de buenos actores pero que no logra funcionar y se vuelve predecible y muy aburrida en algunos momentos.
½ December 31, 2008
love these type of movies
Super Reviewer
December 1, 2008
If you are a Vince Vaughn fan like I'am,then its worth a look, otherwise, avoid this movie.
½ November 5, 2008
Pretty crappy, typical high finance thriller. Vaughn is likable as always.
½ September 14, 2008
I love Vince Vaughn in anything. . .especially something where he is not over the top silly. He is a great actor!
½ September 7, 2008
When a low rung telemarketer specializing in travel scams is given a chance to make some mad cash working for Ed Harris he jumps at it, but he may be in over his head.

Entertaining thriller that most people can relate too. Ed Harris is good as always. Though he seems commited to comedy nowadays Vince Vaughn can play it straight well enough, and Julia Ormond adds some nice eye candy to the flick.
½ August 30, 2008
like glengarry/ross. Great screenplay
½ August 7, 2008
One of Vince's lesser known movies.
Page 1 of 3