Princess of Thieves - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Princess of Thieves Reviews

Page 2 of 29
½ February 16, 2012
this was pretty good but its bull that the prince's friend died
February 8, 2012
a typical but good disney tv movie.
February 1, 2012
I found this was pretty good. Not entirely disney humor or anything but enough to tell it was disney. Decent enough for an evening.
½ January 31, 2012
Terrible movie, but I didn't mind seeing it for relaxation.
December 30, 2011
Keira Knightley stars in this made-for-TV Disney adventure that puts a spin on an often-told story. The film picks up years after the "known" events of the Robin Hood legend, centering on Robin's daughter, Gwyn, played by Knightley. As Maid Marian has died and Robin Hood (Stuart Wilson) is perpetually away battling in the Crusades, Gwyn has lived much of her life alone. She has grown up to be a strong-willed young woman with a talent for archery, much like her father. Her only friend is the sweet but plain Froderick (Del Synnott), who clearly is in love with her. Upon the death of Richard the Lionheart, Robin returns to see that the proper man takes Richard's place as king of England. However, Robin is quickly foiled and imprisoned by his enemies, the Sheriff of Nottingham (Malcolm McDowell) and Prince John (Jonathan Hyde).

It is then up to Gwyn to save the day. She must complete Robin's mission to find and protect the young Prince Philip (Stephen Moyer), who has just returned from exile in France to claim the throne - not an easy task since he has decided to forsake his true identity and is traveling anonymously under his valet's name (who died en-route protecting his prince). Though she does fortuitously cross paths with the prince, she is not aware of his identity for much of the film. With a romantic spark budding between them, they must find the Merry Men and join forces to free her father from the tortures of the Tower of London before the evil Prince John ascends to the throne and brings England to ruin. After freeing her father, Gwyn along with her father and Prince Philip stop the coronation of Prince John.

In the end when Philip is about to be crowned as king, Gwyn with a heavy heart tells him that she can only serve and work for him and they cannot be together. Gwyn joins her father and works alongside him.
½ November 25, 2011
Good movie you have to see
November 1, 2011
Enjoyable But Predictable Made-For-TV-Movie From Disney, Which See's Robin Hood Captured By The Sheriff Of Nottingham, So That Prince John, Can Try And Eliminate Prince Phillip (Richard, The Lionhearts Son.). The Film Follows Phillip And Robin Hood's Daughter Gwyn Take On Prince John And The Sheriff.
½ August 20, 2011
It was a Disney movie, so I should have known it was going to be sappy and not very interesting. Though I liked it to some extent, it was still a waste of my precious time. It was supposedly a twist on the original Robin Hood story, but of course, it was more of an exaggeration of the story with a new plot about Robin Hood's daughter and placing King Richard's son, Prince Phillip on England's throne. It romanticizes thieves and basically ignores reality, but otherwise, it was ok, boring.
½ July 17, 2011
This is a live action Disney movie about Robin Hood's daughter, played by Keira Knightly, whom I adore. So I'm predisposed to like this movie. The plot is light, without much tension. Knightly performs well and looks great, even masquerading as a male. There is just something infectious about her enthusiasm in this movie. The story has been done many times over but seemed fresh as a result. Worth watching but not spectacular.

You wrote this on 2/27/09.
July 10, 2011
It wasn't a revelation, but you can spend a nice evening with your family eating pizzas and watching this movie. It wasn't at all bad, just... not great. Keira is very much like herself in this, nothing we haven't seen yet in her acting, and the rest of the cast fit well.
June 18, 2011
Worse than i was expecting. I only picked it up because Keira Knightly was in it but it was not worth the $10 i paid for it. Granted she was young when she made this her acting wasn't all that great. The script was thin which made the story nonsensical.
May 17, 2011
like father like daughter..
½ April 2, 2011
Duh. Kiera Knightly. Not great filmography, but I liked it.
½ March 2, 2011
I just didn't like the ending - not of a fairytale. :P
½ February 23, 2011
The legacy of Robin Hood continues, and she is his daughter Gwyn princess of thieves... a great movie... It was a sad ending for me because Gwyn refused to give her hand to Phillip, she only needs to serve him just like her father served King Richard...
½ February 15, 2011
Knightley is the best thing about this movie. There's a couple of others, who give decent preformances, in this mediocre tale.
January 25, 2011
Princess of Thieves brings more magic and skill to the screen than, say, Prince of Thieves.
½ December 20, 2010
Even though this was made for telly, it was beautifully captured to not seem too televisiony. This is a family themed Disney, therefore the plot is light, without much tension. A Pre-Bend it Like Beckham and Pirates of the Caribbean, an appealing Keira Knightley was only 15 at the time. She had provided an inspiration to the imaginations of many pre-teen girls( its assumed target audience) who will delight in Knightley's Gwyn's accomplishments. A fun tale added to a beloved lore.
½ December 20, 2010
Even though this was made for telly, it was beautifully captured to not seem too televisiony. This is a family themed Disney, therefore the plot is light, without much tension. A Pre-Bend it Like Beckham and Pirates of the Caribbean, an appealing Keira Knightley was only 15 at the time. She had provided an inspiration to the imaginations of many pre-teen girls( its assumed target audience) who will delight in Knightley's Gwyn's accomplishments. A fun tale added to a beloved lore.
December 6, 2010
keira knightley was great, as always
Page 2 of 29