Protecting the King - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Protecting the King Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 28, 2012
A pretty good take on Elvis Presley's life, it was much better than i thought it would be. Brian Krause & Matt Barr did a great job.
October 27, 2010
Who has seen this movie? Met David Stanley in LA in 2003 back when he was looking for investors for this film. Wondering what others thought of it who've seen it. (I'm guessing it's not a film for the entire family)
September 17, 2010
Easy watching; but rather shallow, corny & cursory. The biggest problem is there is no place for audiences positioning themselves during watching- on Elvis? Or on David?
April 29, 2010
this was an actually good deasent movie about elvis presley
December 30, 2009
A pretty good take on Elvis Presley's life, it was much better than i thought it would be. Brian Krause & Matt Barr did a great job.
August 18, 2009
two thumbps up, great movie
½ August 9, 2009
Ha! What a horrible Elvis movie! Way too cheesy. I gave it some credit 'cause I like Elvis.
½ March 13, 2009
This was a great movie. Fantastic acting, great music, the plot was perfect for what it was. 4 and a half stars.
February 4, 2009
Not an Elvis bio. This film highlights some unpleasant experiences Elvis' stepbrother and bodyguard David Stanley had while working for Elvis in the 1970's. I know Stanley and it's based on true events.
½ November 26, 2008
This movie was laughable at best. Terrible acting, script, and filming combined to make it a waste of time. I don't know how I made it all the way through it.
September 5, 2008
very intriguing. a little closer look on the tragedy of elvis
½ July 13, 2008
[font=Courier New] If you like b-movies, this is the one for you! From the very first voice over it is evident that the next ninety minutes will be very hard to take seriously.
The acting is forced; the narrative is forced and choppy. Elvis doesn't exactly [i]look[/i] like Elvis in this one. The movie is so bad that it's comical.

***Spoiler Alert***

One scene that make this movie worth stomaching is when David's young wife is duped into giving him a ride to the airport so he can 'just say goodbye to' Elvis before he goes on tour. After she drops him off, only to see him kiss some groupie and jump into the jet to go on tour, she [i]doesn't get mad[/i].

There were no Elvis songs.

But, it was better than 'Vanilla Sky".

[/font][font=Courier New]
May 5, 2008
yeah, another great classic...
you should rent you should BUY it...
½ April 30, 2008
Quite the surprise.

This film isn't all about Elvis actually. It's the tale of his stepbrother David Stanley who at the mere age of sixteen joined Presley on the road, later serving as his personal bodyguard. It's about the harsh realities of life on the road and how it eventually took it's toll on both of them.

Never expected anything from this, not being a fan of Elvis and all but this turned out to be quite a good film with a good cast and it's pretty well acted, specially Matt Barr, who played the lead role as David.
Page 1 of 1