P.S. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

P.S. Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
October 21, 2004
This sappy stuff gets better direction by Kidd (who made the far superior Roger Dodger) than it deserves.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
September 5, 2004
Linney plays a woman whose problems in life irritate rather than intrigue you, and the story pivots around an implausible, even surreal coincidence that undoubtedly worked better in the source material, Helen Schulman's novel, than in the film.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 8, 2004
We have a talented director, and a wonderful cast -- but for me this is a near-miss.
Christian Toto
Washington Times
November 8, 2004
P.S. offers two plum roles for stars Laura Linney and Topher Grace and at least three plots for them to unravel
Full Review | Original Score: 2.4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 19, 2004
The actors elevate the material a bit, but they can't escape the fact that the movie only has vague goals set for itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
October 14, 2004
Directed by Dylan Kidd, who showed some filmmaking promise a few years ago with Roger Dodger, P.S. is would-be romance etched in acid and loathing.
| Original Score: 2/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
November 1, 2004
Laura Linney is one of the most talented and beautiful actresses in Hollywood, but she deserves a movie much better than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
September 28, 2004
Dylan Kidd seems to be at the expense of another writer's published weepie rather than the sharp repartee he brought to Roger Dodger
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
October 12, 2004
Kidd's movie staggers around as if its own story was some bad brown acid it had foolishly ingested.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
October 13, 2004
The movie implodes, with each actor less vivid than he or she ought to be and each character less connected to the others than necessary for such an arbitrary plot.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
October 15, 2004
Flawless work by the two actors can't quite save this mushy, chick-lit fantasy.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
October 15, 2004
I haven't read the novel, so I can't say whether the author was more successful at making Louise's obsession plausible. It's certainly not believable in the movie.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
November 7, 2004
Contains more than its share of implausibilities and absurdities -- and let's not even imagine the reception the movie would get if the genders were reversed -- but if it's not Linney's finest role, it contains some of her nerviest work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
November 18, 2004
Despite an excellent supporting cast something in p.s. goes mushy and implausible.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
September 17, 2004
I wish I could say I can't wait to see Kidd's next movie, but I can't say that. I can wait. I can wait just fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 24, 2004
No matter how good Laura Linney is, she can't overcome this movie that goes nowhere and has nothing really interesting to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Andrew Wright
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
December 4, 2004
When the film dispenses with its Harlequinish plot foolishness and flies on the director's considerable instinct, it's a gas.
Top Critic
Rebecca Caldwell
Globe and Mail
November 5, 2004
The screenplay, adapted by both Kidd and Schulman, apparently leaves out much of the book's biting black humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
October 10, 2004
Kidd's directing and the acting are terrific. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the script, the moral tone, and the premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
November 12, 2004
...menopausal drama full of hot flashes and preposterous plot turns. P.S., Linney overacts too.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
June 21, 2011
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
Top Critic
Elizabeth Kerr
Hollywood Reporter
October 25, 2010
Kelly Glover
Zap2it.com
December 19, 2004
Top Critic
Ben Walters
Time Out
August 16, 2007
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
August 1, 2008
Ken Eisner
Georgia Straight
February 6, 2005

Boston Phoenix
November 6, 2004

Sydney Morning Herald
September 2, 2005
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic

Time Out
November 17, 2011
Page 1 of 5