P.S. I Love You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

P.S. I Love You Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
December 20, 2007
This weeper that can't wring out tears.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
December 19, 2007
P.S. I Love You is the cinematic equivalent of a Celine Dion song.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
December 20, 2007
LaGravenese has sliced away the worst of Ahern's excruciating prose, but that proves a negative virtue.
Top Critic
Nell Minow
Chicago Sun-Times
December 20, 2007
Romantic comedies...need twinkle. Her character wears twinkly dresses and does twinkly things, but Swank delivers her lines as though she is still slamming into that heavy bag.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
December 20, 2007
P.S. I don't like you at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
December 13, 2007
There is nothing special about this romance.
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
December 18, 2007
Even fans of the romantic comedy genre might have trouble suspending disbelief for this ridiculous bit of fluff that rarely knows whether it wants to be a serious drama about grieving or a light comedy about finding love.
| Original Score: 3/10
Matt Stevens
E! Online
December 20, 2007
The film's cutesy, high-concept premise strains credibility, and the sitcommy situations (see Swank fall off the stage while performing sexy karaoke!) never quite jive with attempts at poignancy.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Christian Toto
Washington Times
May 12, 2008
Hilary Swank may have two Oscars, but P.S. I Love You proves she has plenty to learn about romantic comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
December 17, 2007
There are many good actresses unsuited for romantic comedies, and Hilary Swank, despite her considerable talents, is one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 20, 2007
Hilary Swank doesn't usually play girlie roles, and this unabashed chick flick demonstrates why: She's not very girlie.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 4, 2008
It was Irish overkill. There didn't seem to be a chronological plan with the letters, so poor Holly is just forced to sit and wait to hear from her dead husband.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Matthew Sorrento
Film Threat
June 21, 2008
Lisa Kudrow, the designated comic relief, has never been so consistently unfunny, and Gina Gershon looks uncomfortable in every (pseudo-)inspirational moment.
| Original Score: 1/5
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
December 21, 2007
P.S. I Love You isn't as pathetically sappy as the title might sound. OK, maybe it is a little...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
December 22, 2007
[Hilary] Swank's raw, genuine performance stands out -- like an emerald on a compost heap -- against the canned warmth...
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
December 20, 2007
It's tough to believe that any leading lady could've done much with writer-director Richard LaGravenese's lackluster material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
December 20, 2007
P.S. I Love You is as treacly as the title would suggest.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
December 21, 2007
Some actors are better suited to straight-ahead dramas. Swank appears to be one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
December 20, 2007
B.S. I Love You would be a more accurate title.
Jason Morgan
Filmcritic.com
December 20, 2007
more of a waste of time than an enjoyed vicarious journey
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6