P.S. I Love You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

P.S. I Love You Reviews

Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
November 17, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
December 26, 2007
There's just enough here to recommend.
Top Critic
Jessica Reaves
Chicago Tribune
December 21, 2007
Snippets of sharp, witty dialogue are lost in a sea of sappy clichés and too-cute-for-words plot twists.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
December 21, 2007
Some actors are better suited to straight-ahead dramas. Swank appears to be one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
December 21, 2007
It's the sort of movie that no man will ever go to unless dragged by a woman. His sole reward will be the sight of Swank in sexy underwear.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
December 21, 2007
The talented Swank is slumming a bit here, but she could -- and has -- done worse.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
David Wiegand
San Francisco Chronicle
December 21, 2007
This is a movie that will leave you stunned and stupefied from beginning to end, if you don't head for the exits first.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
December 21, 2007
In the grief-drenched romantic comedy P.S. I Love You, things are excruciatingly amiss, start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
December 21, 2007
P.S. I Love You looks squeaky clean and utterly straight. Yet as directed by Richard LaGravenese, it has a curious morbid quality.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
December 21, 2007
A protracted piece of schmaltz.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
December 21, 2007
P.S. Why should we care?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
December 21, 2007
Who should be more insulted by P.S. I Love You: Women, who are portrayed as shrill, materialistic harpies who fall down regularly? Or men, who are shown to be at their most romantically attractive when they're dead?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Bobby Hankinson
Houston Chronicle
December 21, 2007
What's on your holiday wishlist? Is there room for a maudlin romantic comedy that brandishes its earnestness like tacky light displays synchronized to Trans-Siberian Orchestra?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
December 21, 2007
Pulling our strings is one thing; taking us for a fool is quite another.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
December 21, 2007
Tone is everything in a movie like this, but writer-director Richard LaGravanese, working from a novel by Cecelia Ahern, can't decide between quirky indie dark comedy and laugh-a-minute TV sitcom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
December 21, 2007
P.S. I Love You is blithely inept.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
December 21, 2007
You could go see P.S. I Love You, or you could hit yourself on the head with a meat mallet.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Nell Minow
Chicago Sun-Times
December 20, 2007
Romantic comedies...need twinkle. Her character wears twinkly dresses and does twinkly things, but Swank delivers her lines as though she is still slamming into that heavy bag.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
December 20, 2007
LaGravenese is known as one of Hollywood's go-to screenwriters, credited or uncredited, but the films he's directed, such as Living Out Loud and Freedom Writers, are memorable more for their terrible titles than any lasting distinction.
| Original Score: C
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
December 20, 2007
B.S. I Love You would be a more accurate title.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
December 20, 2007
If P.S. I Love You proves anything, it's that Hilary Swank may be a great actress, but she can't do cute.
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
Newsday
December 20, 2007
A mostly overheated farrago of sentiment, self-help and romantic cliche.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
December 20, 2007
P.S. I Love You is as treacly as the title would suggest.
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
December 20, 2007
What do you get when you stick a talented, interesting cast in an uninspiring chick flick? Short answer: P.S. I Love You.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
December 20, 2007
LaGravenese has sliced away the worst of Ahern's excruciating prose, but that proves a negative virtue.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
December 20, 2007
This weeper that can't wring out tears.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
December 19, 2007
P.S. I Love You is the cinematic equivalent of a Celine Dion song.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Sara Cardace
New York Magazine/Vulture
December 17, 2007
An unapologetic tearjerker, the film lays on the sap at points, but is helped immeasurably by surprisingly clever dialogue and well-played, funny performances by the supporting cast.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
December 13, 2007
There is nothing special about this romance.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
December 13, 2007
The question of love after death has been asked frequently enough in the movies, but seldom with the high ick factor found in P.S. I Love You.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
December 12, 2007
FYI, there's zero chemistry between P.S. I Love You's two commodified headliners.
Full Review | Original Score: D+