Octane (Pulse) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Octane (Pulse) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ March 3, 2014
Sometimes called Octane or Pulse for some reason, neither of the titles fit this movie one bit. You would expect something interesting and thrilling with either of those titles, instead you get a bumbling slow moving plot which is boring and never interesting. A mother and daughter are driving around and pick up a young woman hitchhiker. Eventually, the daughter gets abducted by a cult and the mother tries to get her back. Also stars Norman Reedus as the tow truck driver who enlists help to get her daughter back. Not worth watching.
½ December 18, 2013
And what did I just watched...? Anyone?
½ December 4, 2013
What a dull and predictable movie. I should have skipped this one.
October 23, 2013
Just kind of weird.....
½ January 22, 2013
I don't know what weird David Lynchian film I ended up watching, but it was immensely terrible. Horrible characters, story, directing. It's an art film masquerading as a thriller, but this art is dime store kitsch. I will say that the only scene worthwhile was Mischa Barton getting a navel piercing.
December 1, 2012
omg i luv this movie...
the guy is so cute the one that killed the girls father...
yal shuld c it...
omg its lk the best thing...
but there is sorta lk a lot of blood in this movie...
<333
November 9, 2012
All in all this is rather dull. Mum tries to rescue her abducted daughter from a blood drinking murdering cult. I get the idea it was supposed to be cool and trendy but, as I've already said, it ended up being rather dull
November 4, 2012
Grade: E

This is a pretty awful low budget film; watching this really was a waste of my time. The film is about a mother (Madeleine Stowe) and daughter (Mischa Barton) who are on a long car journey back home. During an argument, the daughter runs away and is lurred away by a vampire like cult obsessed with blood and running people over. Gosh this film makes Twilight look pretty tame. In desperation the mother tries everything to save her daughter. This film is just a paranoid and bleak mess; it was far to strange, dark and menacing for my liking. It's just another low budget horror film with a weak under developed story. It's one of those films where its creepiness just puts you off; I hated the music too, it was overy creepy and annoying. I found the film a bit dull; most of the time the mom is going frantic looking for her daughter and chasing the RV van. I didn't think that there were any major plot developments; it went at the same pace. On a more positive note I though Madeleine Stowe was really good as the mom and gave a good performance and Mischa Barton wasn't too bad, but otherwise the performances weren't that memorable. It's definitely not a film I'd ever want to watch again or would recommend. Some of the parts were far too gory, disgusting and went too far, the nastiest past has to be when the leader of the cult bites off this dude's tongue. Pretty nasty stuff. This is kind of a terrible film, I only watched it because I happened to stumble across this film on bbc iplayer. I decided to watch it because it was a boring Sunday afternoon and I had nothing better to do. Wouldn't recommend this at all.
½ August 1, 2012
01.08.2012: Started out promising, but gradually turned into something else. It`s like it is missing a whole third act.
March 6, 2012
weeeeiiird movie with psycho people, and Norman is amazing and hot.
December 19, 2011
Oh, a Mischance classic. Had to see it as I was a fan. Creepy movie with some familiar faces. Might stomach it once, but I've had my fill.
March 22, 2011
What an underrated little gem. Great acting, score, suspense, and one of the best directing jobs I have seen in a long time.
January 1, 2011
Not a movie for a weak stomach.
December 13, 2010
Bad has a new meaning...
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2010
Octane or Pulse, those are TWO completely incongruous random titles they chose to stick on this one! Teenage girl is kidnapped/seduced by a cult with cultdom's flimsiest charter ever that was probably outlined on a napkin with the intention of filling in the rest later. Come to think of it, that's probably how the screenplay was developed too.

I watched this after seeing Madeleine Stowe in the credits, and after 45 minutes of waiting for her to show up I suddenly realized she was the mother of the teenager and onscreen most of the time, and I didn't even recognize her! She has aged very well and a peculiar haircut also threw me off. Without her terrific performance during the first hour (as the final 30 minutes consists solely of running, sneaking, and hiding) this is bargain basement 1-star fodder that doesn't deserve an actress of her quality. Yet she manages to infuse her character with intelligence, wit, and slight dementia to pull me into her predicament. Sadly the shoddy story and plodding camerawork don't contribute anything, and the needless dark, sickly green color scheme doesn't help either.
June 9, 2010
This film seemed like it was trying too hard to be something other than what it is. It suffered from trying to draw the viewer's attention in one direction to take suspicion off of another and ended up making it completely obvious.
Mischa Barton is... well, Mischa Barton. So, yeah. Take that how you will.

Would've been better to have more Norman Reedus I think. His character's storyline was much more interesting than the medicated mom and her bitchy daughter.

There was an interesting scene with Norman Reedus and Jonathan Rhys Meyers though, so... yay for that?
½ May 22, 2010
Starring: Madeleine Stowe, Norman Reedus, Bijou Phillips, Mischa Barton, and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers.
Directed by Marcus Adams.
Written by Stephen Volk.
Rated [b]R[/b] (for strong violence, language, some drug and sexual content).
Running time approximately 1 hour 31 minutes.

Such grand ideas and such beautiful photography turn out a retread into cliche-country. Stowe, Reedus, and Rhys-Meyers are all brilliant in a story of modern vampirism, in so many words. Stowe's young daughter is kidnapped by a sick cult of teens who drink the blood of the living, believeing it will prolong their own lives. It's often creepy, but almost never original or interesting. [b]** (out of ****) C[/b]
May 22, 2010
Unfocused direction, dark and bleak. It's certainly a strange film, and not in the least likeable. The performances are one note, no depth and not appealing or with any compassion.
Page 1 of 5