Pumpkin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pumpkin Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 19, 2003
Pumpkin is a movie that resists categorization, that manages wit, intelligence, audacity and pointed social commentary while still entertaining us with a terrifically bizarre combination of soapy, ultra-stylized satire and blackly comic fairytale.
December 8, 2002
Successfully blended satire, high camp and yet another sexual taboo into a really funny movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 3, 2002
Although there are many juicy supporting performances, Christina Ricci owns this movie. What a wonderful talent, and what a maddening, but enjoyable film.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
September 20, 2002
A savage John Waters-like humor that dances on the edge of tastelessness without ever quite falling over.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 18, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 26, 2002
Ricci's Carolyn is entrenched so in her small worldview, so surrounded by sameness, that as she opens her heart to Pumpkin it's entirely believable.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 26, 2002
All the filmmakers are asking of us, is to believe in something that is improbable.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 7, 2002
By presenting an impossible romance in an impossible world, Pumpkin dares us to say why either is impossible -- which forces us to confront what's possible and what we might do to make it so.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 2, 2002
Though Pumpkin extends its jaundiced joke too far, it's almost worth it for Ricci's final scene, which tells us everything we need to know about what will become of her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 26, 2002
Weird. Rewarding.
Read More | Original Score: B
July 19, 2002
Pumpkin takes an admirable look at the hypocrisy of political correctness, but it does so with such an uneven tone that you never know when humor ends and tragedy begins.
July 11, 2002
A journey toward self-awareness of a higher order.
Full Review
July 11, 2002
Instead of putting an easy-to-swallow candy coating on a touchy subject, Pumpkin searches for beauty in ugliness and quality in imperfection.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 11, 2002
For all its many flaws, Pumpkin has some worthwhile ideas and funny moments, and its whacked-out heart is in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 9, 2002
Although I often found it hysterically funny, I was never quite sure if I was laughing at it or with it.
July 9, 2002
Relentlessly, and sometimes brilliantly, it forces us to decide what we really think, how permissive our taste really is, how far a black comedy can go before it goes too far.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 9, 2002
...there is such smart writing, wonderful performances and well-told humor you can forgive the flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 7, 2002
This off the wall comedy takes aim at political correctness, satirizes everything in its path and yet manages to charm
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 6, 2002
One of the funniest motion pictures of the year, but...also one of the most curiously depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4