Pumpkin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pumpkin Reviews

Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
March 27, 2009
Top Critic
Jeff Strickler
Minneapolis Star Tribune
November 6, 2002
Top Critic
Chuck Wilson
L.A. Weekly
November 4, 2002
Though Harris is affecting at times, he cannot overcome the sense that Pumpkin is a mere plot pawn for two directors with far less endearing disabilities.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
August 16, 2002
This is the sort of Pumpkin that really deserves to be smashed.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic

Arizona Republic
August 16, 2002
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
August 7, 2002
By presenting an impossible romance in an impossible world, Pumpkin dares us to say why either is impossible -- which forces us to confront what's possible and what we might do to make it so.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
August 2, 2002
Though Pumpkin extends its jaundiced joke too far, it's almost worth it for Ricci's final scene, which tells us everything we need to know about what will become of her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Scott Steinberg
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
July 26, 2002
Weird. Rewarding.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 26, 2002
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
July 25, 2002
If you believe any of this, I can make you a real deal on leftover Enron stock that will double in value a week from Friday.
Top Critic
Bruce Westbrook
Houston Chronicle
July 19, 2002
[T]hose same extremes prevent us from taking its message seriously, and the Stepford Wives mentality doesn't work in a modern context.
| Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Gary Dowell
Dallas Morning News
July 11, 2002
Instead of putting an easy-to-swallow candy coating on a touchy subject, Pumpkin searches for beauty in ugliness and quality in imperfection.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Chris Jones
Chicago Tribune
July 11, 2002
For all its many flaws, Pumpkin has some worthwhile ideas and funny moments, and its whacked-out heart is in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
July 9, 2002
Although I often found it hysterically funny, I was never quite sure if I was laughing at it or with it.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
July 9, 2002
Remember: These are two hours of your life you'll never get back.
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 9, 2002
[A] rather thinly-conceived movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 9, 2002
Relentlessly, and sometimes brilliantly, it forces us to decide what we really think, how permissive our taste really is, how far a black comedy can go before it goes too far.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
July 5, 2002
The results are perversely watchable, as much for the movie's evasions as the controversial issues with which it toys. Often, it just seems carelessly smug.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 4, 2002
The majority of the film is original and engaging, and Christina Ricci turns in another fine performance. This pair of assets alone is worth the price of admission.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
July 2, 2002
Pumpkin sits in a patch somewhere between mirthless Todd Solondzian satire and callow student film.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
July 1, 2002
I wish it would have just gone more over-the-top instead of trying to have it both ways.
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
June 28, 2002
An opportunity missed.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
June 28, 2002
Pumpkin will no doubt make many people uncomfortable -- but its full frontal assault on political correctness had me in stitches.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
June 28, 2002
Pumpkin means to be an outrageous dark satire on fraternity life, but its ambitions far exceed the abilities of writer Adam Larson Broder and his co-director, Tony R. Abrams, in their feature debut.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
June 27, 2002
The filmmakers try to balance pointed, often incisive satire and unabashed sweetness, with results that are sometimes bracing, sometimes baffling and quite often, and in unexpected ways, touching.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Dennis Lim
Village Voice
June 25, 2002
This post-p.c. comedy is rather less than the sum of its inconsistent daredevil postures.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
April 8, 2002
Broder settles for a broadly played comedy in which the disabled are never really that disabled and intolerance stems more from naivete than from genuine malice.