Pushing Tin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pushing Tin Reviews

Page 1 of 35
January 30, 2016
Under the radar comedy-drama with a big time cast. Can't go wrong here with John Cusack, Billy Bob Thornton, and Angelina Jolie in a 1999 offering that initially missed its mark, however, it has since gained a cult following due its great cast and storyline centered around male competitiveness set
in the world of the stressful life of an air traffic controller. Solid B rating.
½ May 26, 2015
Fine,fun story that pushes the limits then sells out at the end...still worth watching.
½ February 16, 2015
What a great start⦠Wasted. This was a movie that did a great job introducing all parts thoroughly, and started to give you a feel for what the industry really is about. Then, for some reason, they decided to totally go off the rails with the story, making it all about personal insecurities and mistakes, and by the time they tried to get back to the original premise, you had stopped caring. Cusack is too over-the-top, Thornton is too "himself", and the rest of the cast are pretty much inanimate objects by the end.
November 18, 2014
Cusack & Billy Bob were great in this film.
August 11, 2014
Cast strong enough to make me interested.
½ June 4, 2014
i thought i was gonna shut it off at first but it started getting pretty good and entertaining..
½ May 27, 2014
Pushing Tin is most definitely NOT a comedy despite the studio's desire to put it in that category. But then I can see why they don't want to say "This is a moderately depressing drama about the competition between two air traffic controllers that nearly destroys them and their families".
May 1, 2014
I probably liked this movie because I am fascinated with the air traffic control business ... I also like the fact that John Cusack really tries to be a good actor, and to some extent "is". Billy Bob? well he is just the plain ol' annoying jerk that he always is.
April 7, 2014
the first and last movie that well ever be made about air traffic controllers. Its semi interesting but needs work. I liked it because i could really understand the jon cusack character. Cate Blanchett is perfect as usual. This story could be told at a number of jobs but it works better in something thats high stress. Also Vicki Lewis who i know from news radio has a very funny body building competition scene.
January 19, 2014
Hot shot Nick "The Zone" Falzone (John Cusack) is the best air traffic controller on Long Island and he knows it. At work he pushes himself to the limit; at home he's so wired he all but ignores his perfect housewife Connie (Cate Blanchett). When a slick and mystic newcomer joins the staff in the control center, Nick's top-dog title is suddenly threatened. Russell Bell (Billy Bob Thornton) is part cowboy, part Zen master and totally annoying to Nick. To make matters worse, Russell's hot, party-gal wife Mary (Angelina Jolie) makes a play for Nick that is too good for him to refuse. It's not long before the competition heats up, Nick begins to lose his cool and both his professional and personal life begin to crash in flames!

also stars Vicki Lewis, Jake Webber, Kurt Fuller, Matt Ross and Jerry Grayson.

directed by Mike Newell.
½ January 15, 2014
Nice little film without any pretension to be anything else but a nice little comedy about air-traffic controllers. It's well done, the cast is amazing though & brings a lot to an otherwise pretty forgettable film.
½ December 29, 2013
Mindless, the kind of inoffensive movie that didn't need to be made. Not bad, just a waste of two hours.
½ November 12, 2013
Pushing Tin is a decent film. It is about a feud develops between two air traffic controllers. John Cusack and Billy Bob Thornton give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Mike Newell did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
October 22, 2013
It starts off so '80s, but it is also filled with '80s humors as long as the film moves on. Superb performance by Billy Bob Thornton, John Cusack & Cate Blanchett.
October 20, 2013
I don't understand the crappy ratings. I dig this movie. Funny, kinda cool and come on...it's John Cusack!!!
½ August 16, 2013
Starts out promisingly, focusing on the manic lives of air traffic controllers. Then it quickly devolves into a love triangle story. It never recovers. Given the talent involved, a big disappointment.
June 26, 2013
One of the most underrated comedies of the last 20 years. John Cusack and Billy Bob Thornton are hilarious in this story of feuding air traffic controllers. A must see for fans of both actors as well as the supporting cast of Cate Blanchett and Angelina Jolie.
April 17, 2013
Directed by Mike Newell (Four Weddings and a Funeral (1994) and Donnie Brasco (1997)), this film was based on an article called Something's Got to Give by Dewey Finn, originally pubished in the New York Times, and it focuses on one of the most tense and stressful jobs in the world, plus the love lives that happen in between. It's a good film with some sly and gentle laughs, it's a shame it didn't do more business at the time. Nick Falzone (John Cusack), is a cocky air traffic controller, working in New York, and he prides himself on his job and the fact he's able to cope under pressure. Then Russell Bell (Bill Bob Thornton) joins the team from the West Coast, and he's built himself a reputation as a bit of a maverick at what he does. Nick feels threatened by Russell and how he is seemingly able to be better at anything Nick does, both at work and at social functions. But, matters are complicated when Nick encounters Russell's wife Mary (Angelina Jolie) visibly upset and at a lose end, Nick and Mary have an affair, and then Nick discovers his wife Connie (Cate Blanchett) has been eyeing up Russell. It's a good film, with some good observations on life, but that's about it, it's essentially a four way character piece with other characters scattered in, but it has good intentions, although the cliched ending lets it down.
April 13, 2013
A good film with not too much comedy. A bit unrealistic in some aspects and nosedives a bit to the predictable and boring ending. Otherwise a good film and worth a watch.
April 9, 2013
John Cusack plays his lovable flaw ridden -but charming- self character here we see often and he carries Pushing Tin well but the whole thing is just too long for no good reason. The majority of this is like other movies of the same type but fails on the humor and fun aspects. Also the singing part at the end is so weird. I wouldn't particularly wish to see this again, i found my mind wandering in places but i did enjoy seeing the ins and outs of air traffic control considering i didn't know much about it before.
Page 1 of 35