Python - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Python Reviews

Page 1 of 9
December 14, 2015
A bad but somehow entertaining movie. But of course, your expectations need to be pretty low if you're gonna watch this trash, because it's a cheesy made for TV movie, meaning bad acting, goofy CGI effects and characters and a ridiculous story. The camera quality is super cheap and doesn't fit at all with the shity python CGI. This flick is to watch only for campy entertainment when you've got nothing else to do.
November 3, 2014
A satisfying B-movie that many will enjoy, depending your taste in movies, fans of horror films will enjoy!
½ August 16, 2014
One of those films which prides itself on two male stars that are well known due to their appearances in other legendary films. Unfortunately Casper Van Dien is nothing short of pathetic in this, and he appears to have developed a strangely seedy accent which I never remember him having in Starship Troopers. In all honesty, it kind of fits in with the rest of the quality in this creature feature as you can't exactly expect a movie about a giant python to be too realistic. The computer generation completely takes over, making the snake look completely out of context, but it's all done in good spirit and I have to admit it was quite fun. It's surprising that everyone seems so casual when they come across the beast, with one girl even caught in the shower, and throwing small rubber ducks at it to ward it off. There's also the old lesbian sex scene trick at the beginning, just to try and entice the pervs amongst us to watch it for a second viewing. Unfortunately I doubt that will be happening because the cheesiness of the niggling teen relationships is all a bit dull and boring. I wouldn't say this is a particularly gory or scary watch, purely because there's no realism to it but it's full of comedic moments in certain places, including the innuendos a plenty between Jenny McCarthy and her ambitious salesman. To give it it's dues, it's better than many other giant beast films, but just like those, it's still barely worth a second viewing.
July 22, 2014
Uma cobra gigante cai nacidade... e uns caipiras vão enfrenta-la... filme fraco com final horrível!
½ April 20, 2014
The acting is cheesy, the snake looks horribly fake, the story line isn't really consistent, but It's still a slitheringly fun movie, as long as you're not expecting much. If you like creature features, this is a passable way to fill an hour and a half.
September 20, 2013
The plot is boring, the characters are terrible, the acting is awful, and the CGI snake is below average. There's a number of familiar faces, but sadly they are not able to make the movie. Laughable scenes everywhere. Basically what bad movies are made of.
March 26, 2013
Amusing low budget Anaconda ripoff that relishes in its camp. Cheesy acting and effects make this a more entertaining creature feature than what we usually get.

Pros: Decent effects for its budget, campy fun, Englund and Van Dien chew scenery, some nudity.

Cons: Not as fun as I wanted it to be, the main lead is bland, some bad effects here and there, anticlimactic ending.
October 9, 2012
This movie is incredibly lame, and AWESOME. If you like bad movies with bad acting and bad special effects and bad plots and basically everything being bad, then Python is the movie for you. The snake looked terrible, Casper Van Dien had a really lame accent, one of the heroes is Jonny the bad karate guy from Karate Kid and Will Wheaton had pink hair? This movie is a must see if you like cheesy bad movies, especially if you like to make fun of them with your best friend. And it has a sequel, I can hardly
wait.
July 31, 2012
Okay, this movie is on Encore and it sucks worse than any vacuum cleaner ever.
½ July 16, 2012
A film with lowsy effects and bad acting which shows how much gore is needed in these types of films and of course there's none in it.
June 20, 2012
Cheesy bad movie fun.
May 25, 2012
While this movie was terrabley flawed and the CGi was horrable, It was evened out by a good cast and it kept me entertained throughout. I wish they would ahve ended it right when the snake died, the last few minuites of reselution kinda drag the exitment out. But if your going to see any of the python movies screw Python 2 and Boa vs Python and go for this one.,
May 9, 2012
Kruger vs Python, not as fun as it sounds, when I was young I loved it but the effects are cheesy and the plot unoriginal. It all wouldn't even matter, if the film were fun, not so much, although it still has a certain nostalgia value for me!
½ April 22, 2012
just a bad version of anaconda with a lake placid kind of way just bad animation of the snake and a bad story line and as much as mr englund can do he couldnt bring this movie up
½ April 15, 2012
Casper Van Dien, Robert Englund & rubber snakes... in one movie! Is about all you need to know.. if only they had through to film it on a plane.
½ April 6, 2012
Starts off with a really random lesbian scene and then never picks up again. The snake constantly changes size to fit the environment, Robert Englund is wasted, and the deaths really aren't that great.
½ March 27, 2012
While its 8-minute opening (plane crash and lesbian campers), suggest a pure camp-fest, "Python" is more grind-house than camp.

The film, about a giant military-engineered snake (of course), features violence almost reminiscent of torture porn (detailed close-ups of acid-burned bodies are shown, some with their entrails exposed), questionable characters (Robert Englund and Casper Van Dien in particular), so-so snake effects (one minute it looks great, the next minute it's ugly), an issue with tone (the subject matter is treated with mainly straight face, with marginal dose of comic relief), and yep, you guessed it, a slow-paced script that's chock full of cheese.

Yet, there's a couple reasons why this isn't a total blowout. One: it was a low-budget release from the (original) Sci Fi Channel, which is reasonable. Two: it has some redeeming quality in Englund. Three: big 2008 theatrical release "Twilight" is arguably worse than any other bad movie around. Yes, I said it.

Long story short, this movie is dumb and forgettable. If any horror buff plans to see it, proceed with caution.
March 15, 2012
if there were better cgi's, it may not have been that bad... I did say may not have.
September 26, 2011
coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool movie I guess
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
September 12, 2011
Python is a mediocre, yet somewhat entertaining B movie. The concept behind this film is pretty interesting. I think that Python could have been a much better horror film if it would have been released by a big studio, had a more developed story, better actors (aside from Robert Englund) this film could have been something intense. However the film is clearly a low budget exercise in terror, and it doesn't quite succeed in pulling off the terror. If you've seen films such as Anaconda, then you've seen this film before. There's nothing new or extremely thrilling about this film. The story is clichéd and predictable. The film could have been much better than it is, but unfortunately, Python doesn't deliver anything truly horrifying due to the fact that we know what's going to happen next. As far as B movie movies are concerned, Python is very forgettable. The idea might've been good, and it is interesting. But overall it's a very poorly done and developed idea. Python does manage to be slightly entertaining, but overall fails to be an effective horror film. The film more silly than anything else and the film looks very cheap. Not even Robert Englund could make this film work, and the rest of the cast is pretty bad as well. Starship Troopers actor Casper Van Dien stars in this film as well, and quickly faded into obscurity soon after. His performance in the film doesn't do anything to elevate this film or save it from its mediocrity. You're not missing out on anything great in Python. The concept has been explored so many times before and it's been done better before.
Page 1 of 9