Q & A - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Q & A Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ February 22, 2009
nolte was good in this but this was just a boring police drama that was so drawn out.. some scenes went on and on and on.. if you want to see a great police drama just watch training day instead..
½ February 11, 2009
dobry film o policji nowojorskiej i jakie to tam machlojki sie uprawia. bardzo dobrze zagrane. scenariusz tez calkiem niezly. wada filmu jest muzyka, ktora jakos nie pasuje. jest zbyt 80s. i wada jest historia milosna, ktora moim zdaniem kupy sie nie trzyma. mozna bylo ja sobie darowac. poza tym film porusza kwestie rasismu. i pewnie tylko dlatego historia milosna jest wpleciona w ten film, zeby pokazac ze takze 'dobrzy i szlachetni' ludzie czasem kogos osadza na podstawie koloru skory, nawet jesli to wbrew ich woli i tylko na chwile. koncowka oczywiscie daje nieco do myslenia i wcale nie jest kolorowa, bo to juz nie o rasism chodzi tylko o to, ile lewych spraw jest zamiatanych pod dywan, bo odkurzanie okazuje sie zbyt kompleksowe i byc moze bezsensowne.
August 2, 2008
The third movie in Sidney Lumet's loosely-connected trilogy of police corruption combines the gritty realism of life in the police force with the trashiness of a sex, drugs and crime thriller. But the realism that Lumet reaches for is mostly about how racist, anti-Semitic and pretty much anti-everything the cops are, which results in a torrent of racial epithets and language that just adds to the trashy element. The story seems complex but it is ultimately simple; it's a good cop/bad cop affair, with good but tough Hutton determined to expose bad Nolte and slimy boss O'Neal, with the help of drug runner Assante. All of the complexity and trashiness keeps the story moving at a good clip, and the film seems shorter than its 2 hour plus running time. It also provides Nolte with one of his best roles as the menacing, corrupt Brennan, but he is matched move for move by Assante, even though they don't share any screen time. The supporting cast also come up trumps, except for the director's daughter Jenny Lumet, who is wasted in a pointless and muddled romantic sub-plot.
½ July 20, 2008
Could have been good. Wasn't.
Super Reviewer
½ June 25, 2008
This movie was too long and it felt like a dozen other mob/cop movies I've seen before. It was pretty much ::yawn::
½ May 12, 2008
This could've been a good movie....
Story is ok and cast is good (Nolte, Assante, Guzman, Dutton) but the film just tends to be little boring.
p.s. Nolte is one scary motherfucker
½ May 9, 2008
Great F***ing movie.
April 10, 2008
A solid gripping tale of police corruption, morals and ethics. Lumet is back in familiar territory and proves that nobody does it better, especially if you're a big fan of the genre and his earlier work. There's a great deal of realism here without any pretentious attempts! Nolte is impressive as a legendary cop who always has funny stories to share that always seem to drive the cast into hysterics, while Hutton plays a good balance to Nolte's role. It's also nice to see a young Luis Guzman and Charles S Dutton in the cast. If you like your old stories involving an internal police investigation on dirty cops, you'll enjoy this one! This one doesn't try to the best movie of all time and for what it is, it's great!
March 30, 2008
Messily written film about an internal investigation of a murder by a star police officer. The film takes it's point-of-view from the investigator, and creates it's drama by following him deeper into the case.

The poor screenplay and over-complication lets this film down. Nick Nolte's character is pretty much the only thing that will you keep you interested, as unlikable as he is.

The side-line love story adds nothing to the film, apart from adding to any impatience you may be experiencing about the conclusion of what should be a very simple story.

Armand Assante is very good in this also, and you can't help but wonder why they didn't exploit his talents a little more, and the lead character's a little less.
March 23, 2008
Lumet certainly has a thing about the NYPD and corruption...

That's no bad thing though and whilst this isn't his best, it's still an absorbing tale. The characters are interesting and the story is told in a way that doesn't insult your intelligence which I appreciated.

Tim Hutton is good and Guzman rocks but when you put them together with Nolte, it's clear who owns this flick. The dude is pretty ferocious and intimidating throughout and he makes no attempts to soften his character which makes him all the more watchable.

Although it loses it's way towards the end and it becomes a tad predictable in it's closing scenes this is a pretty good example of the genre.
March 18, 2008
Only Nick Nolte's performance provides the one star rating for this tripe. Dire movie with a tedious and irritating romantic sub-plot put into the movie for who knows why. Tedious.
March 17, 2008
Excellent,tight thriller.You don't have a pulse Brennen doesn't freak you out. The only downside is the girl. I think I can act better than that.
February 7, 2008
Question- Would I watch this movie?
Answer- .........Never.
January 26, 2008
Great performances by Nick Nolte and Armand Assante, i even loved the very very retro score by Ruben Blades, unfortunately the film overall is just average
January 16, 2008
I am a big Nick Nolte fan and this is one of his best. One of the greatest introductions of a character ever.
January 4, 2008
a solid film hindered by an inexplicable score that wrecks some important moments of tension/drama. Nolte is especially belligerent here, which is the only emotion besides brooding that he does well.
December 31, 2007
Nick Nolte's Brennan carries the movie. I adore corrupt Irish-American cops
December 11, 2007
Classic story...Nick Nolte in one of his best roles ever.
½ November 18, 2007
Mr Lumet's finest work of art.
Page 2 of 3