The Queen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Queen Reviews

Page 1 of 10
June 13, 2007
The serio-comic approach offers a confusing portrait of the Queen's public and private faces: part sober drama, part high camp, part soap opera, and part right royal romp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 27, 2006
I was bored. Still an enigma, Queen Elizabeth had no character "arc."
Full Review
October 9, 2008
A disappointingly claustrophobic play at sympathy for someone so out of touch with her 'subjects.' And why blow it up for the big screen? . . . Where's the arc? The tragic flaw? The ebbs and flows to her character? . . . A middle-of-the-pack chamber drama
October 18, 2006
...slow and inaccurate...nothing I'd want to sit through if I knew what was in store for me, unless I just wanted to see a good impersonation of Queen Elizabeth and a bad impersonation of the eloquent Tony Blair.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 21, 2007
Un retrato íntimo e interesante en el que lo más sobresaliente es, por lejos, la sobria composición de Helen Mirren.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2006
The tabloid appeal is obvious, but Morgan's script is tomorrow's chip paper.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 27, 2006
Frears' masterstroke is making it a thoroughly sympathetic portrait of Elizabeth, Charles and the entire concept of the monarchy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 1, 2006
Mirren's ability to disappear into the stoic modern monarch in the week following Princess Diana's death may warrant her an Oscar for The Queen -- and it would not be undeserved.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 3, 2006
In good times and bad, for good or ill, she is the public face of her nation. Mirren, Frears and Morgan let us see just how much a burden that mask has been.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 27, 2006
Mirren gives one of the finest performances of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 18, 2006
It's a story that gets more complex the closer you look.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 20, 2006
the movie moves from farce to revelation the monster gains our empathy, we come to a place where we might weep for a queen.
Read More | Original Score: 93/100
October 13, 2006
Told in quiet scenes of proper behavior and guarded speech, The Queen is a spellbinding story of opposed passions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 5, 2006
The Queen is an interesting character study. There's not much plot to speak of, but it gives actors (including a splendid Helen Mirren) an opportunity to shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2006
A film that takes you behind the most famous closed doors in the world for a wickedly funny, fascinating and ultimately moving story of our times.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
January 17, 2007
Like Blair, we are moved from skepticism to sympathy and ultimately to respect by the stunning performances and the perceptive screenplay.
Read More | Original Score: A
October 12, 2006
It's a buoyant mixture of deft, lightly impudent high comedy and human-scaled drama.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 5, 2006
Marvelously smart, funny and entertaining.
October 9, 2006
Helen Mirren is a Queen in her own right.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 10, 2007
THE QUEEN is one of the most entertaining and well madefeature films to come along in a while. It showcases a brilliant performance by its leading lady, Helen Mirren, and features sublime supporting performances ...
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 10