Quills - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Quills Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 27, 2000
Aside from the performances, it's a depraved, lurid flick about a depraved, lurid man and all the depraved, lurid things his stories inspire others to do.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
January 1, 2000
As biography and black comedy, Quills comes up short.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: C
Bob Bloom
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
February 13, 2001
| Original Score: 67/100
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
The film failed because it was too dull to be entertaining and it didn't have anything startling to say about a startling subject.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Richard Schickel
TIME Magazine
January 1, 2000
This is soft-gore porn, obvious in its strategies, witless in the play of its ideas, absurdist only in its pretense to seriousness.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
I'm inclined to agree with my colleague Michael Musto, who suggested that the reason various characters have their tongues ripped out is to prevent the actors from chewing away the scenery.
Top Critic
Eleanor Ringel Gillespie
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
December 14, 2000
Shrill, pretentious, sophomoric and often just plain dumb.
| Original Score: D-
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
November 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Bryant Frazer
Bryant Frazer's Deep Focus
January 1, 2000
It skewers its manufactured hypocrites decisively but unconvincingly, like fish in a barrel.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 14, 2001
I'm glad I saw it, but I wish I could unsee it somehow.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
January 1, 2000
However stylish and intelligently-crafted as it might be, Quills ultimately proves too blunt an instrument to be either very
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
The dramatic case is too settled, the narrative trajectory too smug, the view of the transgressive artist too naive.
Top Critic
Paul Tatara
CNN.com
January 1, 2000
Pretentious, long-winded.
Maitland McDonagh
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
Too violent and sexually frank for art-house audiences and too wordy for thrill-seekers.
Top Critic
Michael Rechtshaffen
Hollywood Reporter
January 1, 2000
What begins promisingly ... quickly turns from wicked to insipid, taking a thematic plunge into insanity from which there is no recovery.
Dave Kehr
Citysearch
January 1, 2000
An oddly tamed and sanitized version of de Sade.
Top Critic
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
January 1, 2000
Feels like a Masterpiece Theater spoof.
Page 1 of 7