Quills - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Quills Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 27, 2000
Aside from the performances, it's a depraved, lurid flick about a depraved, lurid man and all the depraved, lurid things his stories inspire others to do.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 1, 2000
As biography and black comedy, Quills comes up short.
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 13, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 67/100
January 1, 2000
The film failed because it was too dull to be entertaining and it didn't have anything startling to say about a startling subject.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
This is soft-gore porn, obvious in its strategies, witless in the play of its ideas, absurdist only in its pretense to seriousness.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
I'm inclined to agree with my colleague Michael Musto, who suggested that the reason various characters have their tongues ripped out is to prevent the actors from chewing away the scenery.
December 14, 2000
Shrill, pretentious, sophomoric and often just plain dumb.
Read More | Original Score: D-
November 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
It skewers its manufactured hypocrites decisively but unconvincingly, like fish in a barrel.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 14, 2001
I'm glad I saw it, but I wish I could unsee it somehow.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5
January 1, 2000
However stylish and intelligently-crafted as it might be, Quills ultimately proves too blunt an instrument to be either very
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
The dramatic case is too settled, the narrative trajectory too smug, the view of the transgressive artist too naive.
January 1, 2000
Pretentious, long-winded.
January 1, 2000
Too violent and sexually frank for art-house audiences and too wordy for thrill-seekers.
January 1, 2000
What begins promisingly ... quickly turns from wicked to insipid, taking a thematic plunge into insanity from which there is no recovery.
January 1, 2000
An oddly tamed and sanitized version of de Sade.
January 1, 2000
Feels like a Masterpiece Theater spoof.
Page 1 of 7