Rabbit-Proof Fence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rabbit-Proof Fence Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 6, 2003
A tedious, labored affair that's only not boring when it's laughably over the top.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2002
Serves as unassailable proof of Noyce's good intentions, even if as a political statement it's at once over- and under-cooked, with little memorable dialogue and neither enough moral or political nuance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 24, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 29, 2002
Never stirs the soul as much as it might.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 24, 2002
This is a heartfelt story ... it just isn't a very involving one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 27, 2002
The movie is not as compelling as the story it's trying to tell, but it has some very powerful moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 9, 2002
...the film never manages to express that extreme feeling of risk that the real-life girls must have felt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 13, 2002
I prefer Bugs Bunny.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 25, 2002
Only in its final surprising shots does Rabbit-Proof Fence find the authority it's looking for.
February 17, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 2, 2002
An amazing true story gets a pedestrian treatment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 26, 2002
Succumbs to the fate of many 'social-issue' films, forsaking complex characterization, intelligent storytelling and calculated formal design by relying solely on the 'eye-opening' nature of the subject matter itself.
January 19, 2003
Despite the grand drama inherent in its narrative, the film pulls back from investing much energy into imparting upon us the gravity of what we are watching.
September 6, 2002
I think this topic might've been interesting as a documentary, but the film failed to engage me on any level.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
November 22, 2002
Is Fence an amazing story? Yes. Is it an important story? You bet. Is the film beautiful? Absolutely. Is it tedious? You ain't kidding.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
November 29, 2002
An extraordinary story is reduced to a predictable, heart-tugging issue-movie- of-the-week.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 2, 2003
It's really a Disney film, like The Incredible Journey, only with people instead of pets.
January 1, 2011
Powerful drama about racism ok for tweens and up.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 10, 2003
Most haunting about "Fence" is its conclusion, when we hear the ultimate fate of these girls and realize, much to our dismay, that this really did happen. Noyce's greatest mistake is thinking that we needed sweeping, dramatic, Hollywood moments to keep us
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 8