Raincoat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Raincoat Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ October 11, 2013
Rituparno Ghosh's Best Work- Poetry on celluloid. Incredible Soundtrack. Must WATCH.
March 28, 2013
It's such a shame that more people don't know about this film, it's outstandingly good, very probably one of the best films that has ever come out of Bollywood and that's not an overstatement. The acting is magical, so is most of the technical work, especially the editing. The direction is really great, Rituporno Ghosh captures the melancholic and grim mood of the film with absolute perfection. I really could not find a flaw with the film, it's a work of genuine class.
June 16, 2012
One of India's finest movies.
½ April 21, 2012
Slow moving, but great acting by Aish.
½ March 2, 2012
Impressive movie! It was quite touching, and the thoughts about the movie lingered in my mind for quite a while. I asked to myself, how hard it will be for us to see that life has not been fair towards our loved ones? When we witness our painful love in pain our pains just vanish into dust. I landed up on this movie after reading a blog by Devdutt Patnaik about Krishna. He had referred the title number of this movie which dissuades Lord Krishna from going back to his childhood in Gokul and pick up his flute, leaving behind in his Kingdom in Mathura, the scars of war.. This song is loosely tied to the protagonist Ajay Devgan who was not a crowned king but is portrayed as a failure in life who lost his beloved Aishwarya Rai in his past to a richer man and has also lost his job in a jute mill in the present. There he now begins his journey to Kolkata to meet his friend and his wife seeking some monetary help through them to accrue some capital for his business. His friend and his very affectionate wife help him through this among his old friends whom he meets after more than a decade. Reluctantly Ajay Devgan goes to collect money from them all and also pays a visit to Aishwarya Rai to his friend's dislike. The next almost an hour of the story is in that room at Aishwarya Rai's dark bungalow. When the movie is over you are left in pain, sorrow.. that's the success of this movie. Full of conversation and scenes than any bollywood drama. All credits to the director who has also written those charming dialogues and also Ajay Devgan. Probably someone other than Ash could have done a better justice, yet she was fine, I thought Rani Mukerjee perhaps... The chatters of the young lady keeps you stuck to the movie, despite the eeriness of the backdrop.. Another memorable moment is with the landlord, which is the only time you can have a hearty laugh and simultaneously go deep into thoughts. Probably it is better to live in the present than to revisit the past in a hope to cherish our memories.. For the past may not be so much cherish-able every body's life need not have gone through as smoothly as those nostalgic moments. The music deserves a special mention, the lyrics and music and the background score is the lifeline of the movie. It just churns your heart and you do not know why this pain until you hit the climax. On the whole a must watch movie for anyone, you will never regret.
½ August 26, 2011
Not what you'd expect as a Bollywood production, so, forget the dance numbers, the glitter, the playful light plot. Two people meet after having been separated by customs each masking their reality with lies and pretenses, each putting out the face of their visions rather than their hearts. Watch it!
April 18, 2011
Wonderful movie... Brilliant screenplay and great acting by Aish and Ajay .... Must watch for everyone...
½ October 15, 2010
Best Film in many ways.Story of life
October 14, 2010
ash's best acting...liked the direction
½ August 14, 2010
one of my favorite film!
½ July 13, 2010
fabulous work by aish. near perfection
½ April 6, 2010
Yo must have read the romantic love story of a "couple" in which the guy sells his watch to buy some comb or something for the gal's hair, whereas the gals sells her hair to buy a band for the guy". No, it's not an adoption but it will refeel the sense of love, pride and gift with a majestic mood-creating background score.
½ February 10, 2010
Can a raincoat be the medium of unsopken truth between two soul-mates? Perhaps !! Old flame reignites when Mannu, a small town unemployed man comes to Kolkata to seek job and also his village sweerheart Neeru, now married in Kolkata. He visits her house in a rain-soaked afternoon. Long-supressed words erupt as they also recall their sweet memories. But they discover something that........
Superb camera work, soothing background music, sincere acting, satisfying story line (although a bit dragging at some moments) - this is surely a toast to your emotions. True love can exist even amidst incelement situations.
December 5, 2009
was very pleasantly surprised !!!
November 15, 2009
Good Movie, Superb Performance by Aish.. Seen long Back... SOA ;)
September 20, 2009
A very good, mature script. Good to watch. I think, this the only movie Ash has acted well apart from HDDKS.
June 22, 2009
SERIOUSLY A TREMENDOUS MOVIE IN WICH AISH AND AJAY AGAIN FLAWED THE SCREEN AFTER HUM DIL DE CHUKE SANAM !
May 26, 2009
I simply loved this movie...brilliant work by everybody!!!
May 12, 2009
This was a pleasant surprise! I would consider this 'parallel' Indian cinemal. Not a musical, but more like a well-executed piece with very appropriate music and good performances. The movie is even short; I would have enjoyed a second part or a longer version. I craved for more of 'what happened next' as well as character interaction. Both Ash and Ajay are usually in way more commercial movies, but this time they gave something to those of us who like more cerebral Indian cinema. I would only criticize the lighting, as I felt it was not dark enough for the ambience the dialogues projected. This, for sure, fits in my kind of Bollywood.
½ February 14, 2009
Not every Indian movie is a lavish, kinetic, three-hour musical. A few of them are quiet, sad, lonely, lovely films like this one. This could easily have been a play, anchored as it is in one room for most of the time. Ajay Devgan and Aishwarya Rai play childhood sweethearts who reunite at her house while he's in Calcutta on business. The two circle around each other as flashbacks detail the breakup of their old relationship as Rai's character Neeru found herself in an arranged marriage. (My only complaint is that the art department seems to have not even bothered to phone in making the two actors seem younger/older than the fifteen years or so that separate them from the flashbacks.) Rai is very good at playing sad and gorgeous, and the story is well-written, taking an interesting turn just when it needs to. Great stuff.
Page 1 of 5