Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale Reviews

Page 1 of 5
December 26, 2015
OK. it's a silly folklore tale. But I found it both pleasingly absurd and funny.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 14, 2014
The end gets a little silly, but the building tension of the first two acts allows for some deliciously creepy moments and a true feeling of dread: the sense of something very old, and very hungry, shuffling toward you in the Yuletide dark.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 14, 2014
[A] deliciously loopy oddball of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 14, 2014
A James Bond movie, fairy tale and potentially a full blown horror story rolled into one, if you enjoyed the original Swedish vampire thriller Let The Right One In, you'll find much to admire here.
December 14, 2014
I'm at a loss for words for how cool this is. It's a Killer Santa. Killer Santa, people. It's a great concept.
December 14, 2014
The flaws of Rare Export offer an important reminder that looking good on YouTube does not provide qualifications for a bigger screen.
December 14, 2014
This dark, haunting and cold tale is more of a comic horror movie for all ages than a happy children's story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 14, 2014
Rare Exports also twists the season's staples with a morbidly merry, tongue-in-cheek sense of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 14, 2014
The barmy Finnish film Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale taps into the creepy subtext of an elderly man who breaks into children's homes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 9, 2013
Jalmari Helander's film has fun with the idea that Christmas, with all its kid-friendly commercialism, has horrific, blood-soaked roots, like a Chuck E. Cheese built over a plague pit.
December 9, 2013
One of the best Christmas horror movies I've seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 9, 2013
This is a Christmas film like none you have ever seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 9, 2013
Helander and company have done such a wonderful job at forming the foundation of a new mythology that we can't help but want more. And if we can all be good little girls and boys, perhaps we'll get just that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 9, 2013
For anyone who can look a little askance at the monster that contemporary Christmas has become, this artfully made Finnish tale is -- I kid you not -- a real treat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 9, 2013
Rare Exports is a darkly amusing and mildly menacing film whose chief benefit is the skewed courage with which it undermines all that is decent and heartwarming at this time of the year.
November 7, 2013
By the end, Helandar's movie feels more like an elaborate punchline to an overwrought joke, a thematic gibe more appropriate for a short film.
January 15, 2013
You'd better watch out. You'd better not swear. Have a gun handy, loaded for bear. Santa Claus is coming...to Finland.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 29, 2012
Beautifully shot and always fascinating, Rare Exports succeeds on many levels. But the final payoff just never seems to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 17, 2011
a holiday movie for the horror movie fan
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 5, 2011
A wonderfully strange concoction of dry comedy, weird horror, and Christmas-related craziness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 5