Rashômon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rashômon Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 1, 2011
Masterpiece about absolute truth. Best for teens.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 19, 2009
Akira Kurosawa's four-way account of a man's murder has become so associated with its central device %u2014 not to mention its myriad offshoots %u2014 that it requires an effort to see it only for itself.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 1, 2002
Rashomon (1950) struck the world of film like a thunderbolt.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Kurosawa's most brilliant move in Rashomon is never to reveal what really happened. We are left to make our own deductions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 13, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
March 8, 2015
Akira Kurosawa's famous cosmic shrug
October 1, 2007
It does nothing less than demolishing everything its characters -- and some of its audience -- believed in.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 20, 2008
Astonishing.
| Original Score: 5/5
June 21, 2010
The mixture of bravura camera work, muscular direction and inventive storytelling remains unmissable.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 21, 2008
An impressive piece of work, visually and rhythmically masterful.
February 4, 2006
I suspect that most people who come to Japanese cinema first enter it through Kurosawa.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 16, 2008
This caused a flurry in critical circles for its brilliance of conception, technique, acting and its theme of passion.
March 23, 2002
A biting commentary on deceit, gender roles, and due process (not to mention Japanese culture).
| Original Score: 5/5
February 20, 2003
| Original Score: 5/5
January 1, 2000
Rashomon is a film about the lies people tell to protect their self-image.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 22, 2002
There is so much content in its 88-minute running time that even careful viewers feel their heads spinning when they first see it.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
April 29, 2002
The moral ambiguities of the film certainly are enlightening.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 13, 2003
| Original Score: 5/5
October 14, 2003
Copiado à exaustão por cineastas de todo o mundo, Rashomon é inigualável - não apenas por sua estrutura, mas por sua bela análise sobre a natureza humana.
| Original Score: 5/5
August 25, 2009
a game-shifter that challenges all we think we know about truth
Read More | Original Score: 89/100
Page 1 of 3