Rats - Notte di terrore (Blood Kill) (Rats: Night of Terror) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rats - Notte di terrore (Blood Kill) (Rats: Night of Terror) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2011
One of Bruno Mattei's most beloved films by fans, not because it's great, but because it's laugh out loud awful! The fun factor is high and the cheesy characters and English dubbing are both major players in providing the entertainment. Special mention also to the Rats in the film and their complete lack of enthusiasm in their roles as bloodthirsty maneaters, the poor buggers are kicked, stamped, thrown and torched all over the place! There are a couple of decent kills but I was expecting a bit more gore so marks off for that. Overall not quite as enjoyable as Zombie Creeping Flesh but still a good fun watch with friends and beers.
Super Reviewer
September 2, 2009
Gets both stars for being an absolute comic gem. From the overacting, not helped by hilarious dubbing, to some of the "special" effects. I think they were trying to avoid swearing, which led to classics such as "Next time I wont be so LENIENT!". When rats attack people, they seem to always fall from the sky, probably because crew members were just chucking them down on actors. There's one classic shot where hundreds of rats attack. But these aren't your everyday rats,they seem to be solid plastic and placed on a conveyor belt, in order to give the impression of a speedy swarm. The end was surprisingly good, and is the only point where the films limitations aided, rather than hindered.
Super Reviewer
½ February 4, 2008
Hilarious. Bruno Mattei's incompetent directing infused with terrible over-acting make this one a film I love to revisit anytime I need a good hearty laugh. A post apocalyptic nightmare, with rats!
½ January 3, 2010
It's a Bruno Mattei film! This schlock-mastero, who excels at ripping off other films, has crafted the most boring and asinine work I have ever seen, in regards to a b-movie. I don't care how much you show the rats, or how quietly/loudly you can get your music to be, and the fact that the actors are all obviously acting; if you can tell it, then it's bad. The gore is rather absent and the movie makes little sense.
½ November 23, 2008
Oh my goodness; ok, that's fucking it. I am never watching another Bruno Mattei film ever again. This time I mean it! I don't even want to see the hardcore porno flicks he directed, because I'm sure those are pieces of shit too. In an apocalyptic world, what's left of humanity is split amongst people who live above ground (which are rough looking, mad-max style folks that half ample amounts of gas and bullets) and those who live underground (which are smart, scientists, or whatever). A group of blithering mad-max idiots set out to a small town, where they uncover ample amounts of fresh food, which they soon party and consume with for several loooong, excruciating seconds before they realize that rats are infesting the building and soon, are taking them out one by one, with ease. This movie was so terrible, but manages to incite a few laughs from me, especially the Planet of the Apes-style ending. Other than that, another Mattei piece of shit!
May 4, 2008
As with all of Bruno Mattei's films, this is not a great movie, but as with many of his films, it is enjoyable. And the ending is awesome.
October 12, 2005
When it comes to making terrible movies, we Americans are pretty damn near the top of the cinematic crap food chain. After all, what other country can produce such a diverse range of mindboggling non-talent as Larry Buchanan, William Beaudine, Brett Rattner and George Lucas? Sure, other countries have their token representatives, like Germany's Uwe Boll or the Philippenes' Cirio Santiago, but few countries produce as much schlock as we do.

Except, possibly, the Italians.

Now Italy looks like a great country for film. How many Criterion DVDs are Italian? How many "Best Foreign Language Film" Oscars have Italians won? Even their genre films have a certain classiness to them, and folks like Mario Bava and Dario Argento are genuine master craftsmen of film, bringing respect to what would otherwise be considered quickie horror flicks.

Below the Argentos and the Bavas are the Fulcis, who have a good sense as to what makes an interesting genre film, even if they have no idea how the hell to put it together in any sort of coherent way. Slightly below the Fulcis are guys like Sergio Martino, workmanlike directors who know how to put together a decent piece of drive-in trash, but don't really do it with any degree of flair.

And then there's Bruno Mattei.

Now, I don't think Bruno Mattei is the worst horror film director ever, but when there's stiff competition like Buchanan and Andy Milligan around, this is about as faint as praise gets. He's certainly in the running for the worst Italian horror film director ever, and that certainly takes some doing.

Let's take [i]Hell of the Living Dead[/i], one of dozens of quickly-made Italian zombie flicks crapped out after the success of[i] Dawn of the Dead[/i]. How much of a [i]Dawn of the Dead[/i] rip-off is it? Well, let me put it this way: The best thing about [i]Hell of the Living Dead[/i] is the music, which, I realized about fifteen minutes into the film, is the same Goblin music used in [i]Dawn of the Dead[/i]. Even though it's a complete steal from another film, it's still the only redeeming thing about [i]Hell of the Living Dead[/i].

The film starts at a science compound of some sort researching a virus of some sort and suddently all hell breaks loose and the entire compound gets locked down as everyone starts turning into flesh-eating zombies. This is, by the way, the exact same set-up used in [i]Resident Evil[/i], which is a significantly better movie.

Anyway, we're introduced to a quartet of interchangable SWAT team members who busily take down a group of terrorists who've taken some people hostage. The SWAT team then drives off into the deep jungles of Africa where they're joined by a female reporter and her cameraman, who manage to escape from a horde of zombies that killed a family of three that was with them. (Why was a family travelling with them? Who the hell knows?)

The film follows our group through the jungles of Africa as they encounter, well, more zombies. Most of these zombies are the slow-moving, slow-witted kind, and it would rarely take more than, say, moving to the left a little to get away from them, but that's still way too much effort for most of our characters. Not to mention the fact that, despite them learning very early on that they can only be killed when shot through the head, our team is constantly shooting them in the chest. These are stupid, stupid people, and the fact that they survive as long as they do is clearly meant as a sign that evolution is a lie.

And they survive a looooong time before any of them start to get ripped apart. Meanwhile, they stop at an African village, allowing for the most gratuitous nudity I've ever seen as the reporter strips and paints herself so the natives will be friendly to her. She really needn't have bothered, especially since most of the activities within the village are represented by footage from Barbet Schroeder's [i]La Vallee,[/i] shot on different film stock and integrated into [i]Hell[/i] simply by cutting in shots of the reporter looking around. Not since [i]White Gorilla[/i] has there been something that pathetic.

When they finally do start getting offed, the deaths are lame and uninspired, mostly consisting of being bitten and having lots of blood everywhere with minimal shots of flesh being torn, the sole reason for watching a damn Italian zombie film in the first place. There's some political stuff towards the end, where we suddenly cut to the U.N. (!), but it just slows down the film even more.

[i]Hell of the Living Dead[/i] is a bloody awful film, and it's been disguised under various titles over the years. I first got conned into it as [i]Night of the Zombies [/i]back in the mid-'80s, and figured I'd give it another chance on DVD. Lesson learned.

At least Mattei's [i]Rats: Night of Terror[/i] is entertainingly stupid. It begins with a slow introductory crawl detailing the events of the apocalypse the film takes place hundreds of years after, carefully explaining that there are now two factions of people, one that lives above ground and behaves like scavengers, while the other lives below ground in a utopia of some sort and looks down on the above-grounders. It's a long explanation that sets up a potentially ambitious premise of cultural warfare in a post-apocalyptic world.

As good of a build-up as this is, it turns out to be completely irrelevant to the movie at hand. The movie, you see, involves a group of bikers fighting off hordes of killer rats, and the post-apoc qualities of it are so limited (with the exception of the ending) that you could just start the film proper, throw up a title that says "BIKERS VS RATS," and move on. Ah well.

This particular gang of bikers reaches a small abandoned town and takes refuge in a building where they discover plants, and then rats show up and apparently try to kill them. I say apparently because the rats, as far as I can see, don't really do much of anything, but there's lots of screaming from the female bikers and people start ending up dead. Mostly the bikers just have rats thrown at them by the bucket-load by someone just off-screen, and it all looks more silly than scary. In fact, this may be the first killer critter film where I came out of the movie feeling less afraid of the deadly vermin than more--most of the "rats" (actually guinea pigs painted black) just seem to be minding their own business most of the time, and having all these bikers yelling at them and throwing them around seems more mean than scary.

So the plot's crap, but entertaining, especially the effect that desperately tries to convince us that hordes of rats are approaching by having a bunch of obviously fake rats on a conveyor belt. What really takes Rats into high gear is the dialogue. Now, we learn right off the bat that the filmmakers have no need for subtlely (the black character's name? "Chocolate."), but add that to people threatening to "blow your guts out" while holding a club (!?) and you've got something almost special.

"But, Paul," you say, "Aren't Italian horror movies dubbed? Couldn't this be the work of bad dubbing?" Well, under normal circumstances, sure, but first off, this isn't dubbed like the Mexican horror films of the '60s where they tried to make the works match the mouth movements, leading to some fascinatingly strained sentence structures. Second, the film is written by Claudio Fragrassi, who wrote [i]Troll 2[/i], which has such legendarily bad dialogue and is in English that I can't help but think his vision is being preserved here.

His vision happens to include lines like "Stupid machine needs a kick in the balls!" God bless him.

(The film also includes a scene where the group finds a dead body lying in a bed. "He's been murdered!" one of them immediately explains. Exactly how he knows this I have no idea--after all, if I found a dead body in a hospital bed, "murdered" is probably the last thing I'd figure the cause of death to be, unless you extend "murdered" to include bad health care.)

[i]Rats[/i] may, in fact, be a worse film than [i]Hell of the Living Dead[/i], but it's a significantly more enjoyable one. Sure, it's idiotic, mindless and has nothing but tired characters, but at least you can tell them apart, and, sorry, the endless shots of actors being showered in rodents tossed at them from obviously a couple feet away never gets old. Plus it's got the most hilariously awful "twist" ending I've seen in a crap horror film in a good long time, which I'd spoil, but hey, you really have to see it for yourself.

Neither of these films make the case for Mattei being anything but an awful hack of a filmmaker, but being the cinematic masochist that I am, I demand to see more. Damn you, Bruno Mattei, you need a kick in the balls.
April 16, 2016
Okay Italian warriors-of-the-wasteland tale involving a gang who come under attack by a group of mutated rats. It's essentially a post-apocalyptic version of "Assault on Precinct 13" except it's wasteland warriors under siege by rats instead of cops under siege from gangs. From the director Bruni Mattei, his name on the project certainly doesn't lead you to expect a quality film, which this certainly not. However,r compared to most Mattei films, this one is actually better than most, but that's a pretty low bar when your filmography includes "Porno Holocaust" and "S.S. Extermination Love Camp." But the weirdest part of this movie is that it starts out with a prologue explaining how a large group of survivors live comfortably in underground cities and that they were at war with the "New Primitives" who chose to live above ground, except that almost all of the movie only follows the aboveground wastelands and almost never even shows these underground city dwellers. So overall, the film is pretty bad, but it does have better than expected production design (mostly due to it reusing sets from Sergio Leone's "Once Upon a Time in America"), some alright gory effects and loads of REAL rats. And one interesting note of trivia, this film was presented in Germany as the third film in the Bronx Warriors series, even though it really has no connection to the previous two films, but does admittedly have that same low budget Italian vibe to it.
September 2, 2015
A really amusing Italian giallo film involving a wacked out bunch of drifters and a million rats. Not really scary most of the time and just enough gore and sex to make it amusing. A couple of points: the rats in the film are the ugliest bunch you'll see in a long time with most having the worst hair day of their rat lives! Some also have the reddest eyes of any rat which may be a special effect. Second, if you're covered with rats, don't let your buddy with a flamethrower help you out!! Pretty amusing film overall...
March 26, 2015
The movie is much better after you've seen the ending and you watch it all for a second time.
February 27, 2015
Probably Bruno Mattei's best piece of schlock. Fun concept with a fun setting. Food of the Gods in the world of Mad Max.
May 2, 2014
The (Rats) Night of Terror Evil Rats rodents
March 18, 2014
Tellement mauvais que s'en est drôle !
½ September 16, 2013
I'd give Bruno Mattei credit; the concept of humans being enslaved to rats, who've turned into killers following an apocalypse, with a rather memorable plot twist that could've been from The Twilight Zone. However, the movie does have its flaws; like Dawn of the Mummy, the acting could've been suitable for rat food, and the way its directed was bizarre to say the least. And the copy I had was Italian-languaged, so I wish I had an English copy. I can see why Mattei considers this to be a favourite, even if the film was cheaply done.
March 11, 2013
good film but lacking alot of things that could of made it alot better. those are some bad rats.
January 11, 2013
Oh boy. They don't come funnier than this--Fun B-movie!!
½ June 13, 2012
Very odd movie from Bruno Mattei, rats seem to do nothing but fall on people! Could possibly be the worst sex scene in history and then getting stuck in a sleeping bag. Best description of this movie: an Italian zombie movie that forgot the zombies!
½ April 27, 2012
This movie falls into that category of "so atrociously bad, its awesome". With its really bad English dub and guinea pigs dressed as rats... the movie features one festy decayed corpse after another. It was directed by cult Italian schlock maestro Bruno Mattei who made dozens of video Zombi nasties and the fantastically woeful 'Cruel Jaws' which is packaged as JAWS 5. Rats: Night Of Terror is heaps of fun. Well worth watching with a bunch of fellow horror buffs when drunk.
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2011
One of Bruno Mattei's most beloved films by fans, not because it's great, but because it's laugh out loud awful! The fun factor is high and the cheesy characters and English dubbing are both major players in providing the entertainment. Special mention also to the Rats in the film and their complete lack of enthusiasm in their roles as bloodthirsty maneaters, the poor buggers are kicked, stamped, thrown and torched all over the place! There are a couple of decent kills but I was expecting a bit more gore so marks off for that. Overall not quite as enjoyable as Zombie Creeping Flesh but still a good fun watch with friends and beers.
January 10, 2011
The best (and only) movie about killer rats set in the year 225 A.B. (After the Bomb) I've ever seen.
Page 1 of 4