Rats - Notte di terrore (Blood Kill) (Rats: Night of Terror) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rats - Notte di terrore (Blood Kill) (Rats: Night of Terror) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 4, 2017
I was happy to finally cross this one off the list recently, but if I'm being honest it wasn't exactly worth the wait.The film takes place in a post apocalyptic world in which humans scrabble around to survive and ultimately find themselves up against not only one another but mutated rat creatures who want to eat them.

It's an okay time-waster, but I won't come back to this anytime soon.

Rental? Maybe?
April 16, 2016
Okay Italian warriors-of-the-wasteland tale involving a gang who come under attack by a group of mutated rats. It's essentially a post-apocalyptic version of "Assault on Precinct 13" except it's wasteland warriors under siege by rats instead of cops under siege from gangs. From the director Bruni Mattei, his name on the project certainly doesn't lead you to expect a quality film, which this certainly not. However,r compared to most Mattei films, this one is actually better than most, but that's a pretty low bar when your filmography includes "Porno Holocaust" and "S.S. Extermination Love Camp." But the weirdest part of this movie is that it starts out with a prologue explaining how a large group of survivors live comfortably in underground cities and that they were at war with the "New Primitives" who chose to live above ground, except that almost all of the movie only follows the aboveground wastelands and almost never even shows these underground city dwellers. So overall, the film is pretty bad, but it does have better than expected production design (mostly due to it reusing sets from Sergio Leone's "Once Upon a Time in America"), some alright gory effects and loads of REAL rats. And one interesting note of trivia, this film was presented in Germany as the third film in the Bronx Warriors series, even though it really has no connection to the previous two films, but does admittedly have that same low budget Italian vibe to it.
September 2, 2015
A really amusing Italian giallo film involving a wacked out bunch of drifters and a million rats. Not really scary most of the time and just enough gore and sex to make it amusing. A couple of points: the rats in the film are the ugliest bunch you'll see in a long time with most having the worst hair day of their rat lives! Some also have the reddest eyes of any rat which may be a special effect. Second, if you're covered with rats, don't let your buddy with a flamethrower help you out!! Pretty amusing film overall...
April 5, 2015
The movie is much better after you've seen the ending and you watch it all for a second time.
March 2, 2015
Probably Bruno Mattei's best piece of schlock. Fun concept with a fun setting. Food of the Gods in the world of Mad Max.
May 2, 2014
The (Rats) Night of Terror Evil Rats rodents
March 18, 2014
Tellement mauvais que s'en est drle !
½ September 20, 2013
I'd give Bruno Mattei credit; the concept of humans being enslaved to rats, who've turned into killers following an apocalypse, with a rather memorable plot twist that could've been from The Twilight Zone. However, the movie does have its flaws; like Dawn of the Mummy, the acting could've been suitable for rat food, and the way its directed was bizarre to say the least. And the copy I had was Italian-languaged, so I wish I had an English copy. I can see why Mattei considers this to be a favourite, even if the film was cheaply done.
March 11, 2013
good film but lacking alot of things that could of made it alot better. those are some bad rats.
January 11, 2013
Oh boy. They don't come funnier than this--Fun B-movie!!
½ June 13, 2012
Very odd movie from Bruno Mattei, rats seem to do nothing but fall on people! Could possibly be the worst sex scene in history and then getting stuck in a sleeping bag. Best description of this movie: an Italian zombie movie that forgot the zombies!
½ April 27, 2012
This movie falls into that category of "so atrociously bad, its awesome". With its really bad English dub and guinea pigs dressed as rats... the movie features one festy decayed corpse after another. It was directed by cult Italian schlock maestro Bruno Mattei who made dozens of video Zombi nasties and the fantastically woeful 'Cruel Jaws' which is packaged as JAWS 5. Rats: Night Of Terror is heaps of fun. Well worth watching with a bunch of fellow horror buffs when drunk.
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2011
One of Bruno Mattei's most beloved films by fans, not because it's great, but because it's laugh out loud awful! The fun factor is high and the cheesy characters and English dubbing are both major players in providing the entertainment. Special mention also to the Rats in the film and their complete lack of enthusiasm in their roles as bloodthirsty maneaters, the poor buggers are kicked, stamped, thrown and torched all over the place! There are a couple of decent kills but I was expecting a bit more gore so marks off for that. Overall not quite as enjoyable as Zombie Creeping Flesh but still a good fun watch with friends and beers.
January 10, 2011
The best (and only) movie about killer rats set in the year 225 A.B. (After the Bomb) I've ever seen.
January 8, 2011
Rats " Night of Terror by schlock meister Bruno Mattei (here credited as Vincent Dawn) takes place in the year 2240 in a post apocalyptic world strangely similar to our own. A gang of survivors encounter an abandoned science lab. Unfortunately for them it(TM)s populated by evil mutated rats, or so we are meant to believe. How these insipid lead characters have survived thus far is beyond my belief as they squirm and panic over the most insignificant events. But perhaps they are not to be blamed since they are supposed to be scared by cute little guinea pigs painted as rats. The lazy ass rats never attack unless somebody off camera throws them towards the actors which causes for some hilarious scenes. Some good SFX and some intense direction make it worthwhile. The bad dubbing, hammy acting and non-scary rat design adds to the fun in what ultimately becomes way more fun and watchable than it really should be. Loads of irrationality is accompanied by what seems to be the same church organ theme every 5 minutes. The ending is a hoot, though.
½ November 1, 2010
Great Post-Apocalyptic Rat Horror it real frigthening me who has a Rat Phobia
August 25, 2010
Hilariously bad. Inept even. The scenes of the rats marching in to attack are obviously a painting and the whole thing tries to be Mad Max, which it isn't.
July 14, 2010
seen it years ago scared the crap out of me as they are the most deadly animal next to cats
June 10, 2010
my second favorite Burnno Mattei film. Obviously Mattei's own take on Romero's "Night of The Living Dead", using Rats to replace zombies. A stranged, over-acted, and often hilarious post-apocalyptic nightmare. Worth the time and admission.
½ May 4, 2010
Mattei goes a little light on some of the typical exploitation elements, but he sure doesn't skimp on atrocious dialogue wall-to-wall, or on characters behaving in a totally boneheaded, illogical way. For hard-edged survivors of the apocalypse, these people sure seem to do everything possible to make sure they get killed by the rats. If you can laugh at these things rather than being annoyed by them, it's a great party movie, as so many Mattei movies are.
Page 1 of 4