Read My Lips - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Read My Lips Reviews

Page 2 of 5
September 27, 2002
Never once predictable.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
September 26, 2002
It's stylishly directed with verve...
Full Review | Original Score: A -
September 20, 2002
The noirish twists are not always believable; at least once I laughed out loud incredulously.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 20, 2002
See it now, before the inevitable Hollywood remake flattens out all its odd, intriguing wrinkles.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 20, 2002
The exposition does pay off, if you can stay awake that long. There's little gripping in the film until the second hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 13, 2002
A genuinely adult thriller with a sneaky sexual charge.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 12, 2002
The mesmerizing performances of the leads keep the film grounded and keep the audience riveted.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
September 10, 2002
Its primary benefits are held in a quark of arcane visual symbols and cultural criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 80/100
September 9, 2002
This is only Audiard's third film, but it should put him in the top ranks of international filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 5, 2002
It's neither as romantic nor as thrilling as it should be. But it offers plenty to ponder and chew on as its unusual relationship slowly unfolds.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 1, 2002
Read My Lips starts with a bang and ends with an orgasm.
August 30, 2002
Read My Lips works on many levels, one being a fresh take on the 'office romance,' but a romance that evolves in a strictly nontraditional way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 30, 2002
Although it has thriller elements, Read My Lips is more of a straightforward caper film with substantial personal interaction.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2002
A gritty, engaging thriller.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2002
There's a lot to recommend Read My Lips.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2002
Thoughtful, provocative and entertaining.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2002
It's erotic, suspenseful and built around two surprising characters. Even better, it doesn't feel like every other thriller we've ever seen.
Read More | Original Score: B+
August 8, 2002
Emmanuelle Devos, veteran of a number of relationship dramas directed by Arnaud Desplechin, is terrific in subtly impressing on us Carla's outsider status.
August 4, 2002
Passionless and devoid of genuine suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 2, 2002
It's the duo's conflicted relationship that steals our attention, thanks to the first-rate work of the leads.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 2 of 5